We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Alvin
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We are 3 out of 4 days into our stay here but there's no need to wait until we leave to review it. Everything has been great during our stay. Hotel is very nice looking and clean. Bed is very comfy and the rooms have a huge TV with DirectTV. Holiday Inn Express breakfast is great as usual. The business center and workout room are open 24/7 which is very convenient. Curtis and the rest of the staff are very accommodating and friendly. The only minor comment is the light that comes through the windows. My girlfriend is one who needs her room completely dark and it would have been helpful if the outer curtains closed all the way. Would definitely stay here again though!

Room Tip: If you need your room completely dark, try a room on the pool side as there might be less light over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bucs0535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I apologize about the blackout drapes not working properly. I will personally check on this issue. We are glad that Curtis made your stay enjoyable. He's a great guy!

We invite you back home...We are your home away from home!

Management and Staff of the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Alvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 84 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was clean and comfortable with visual aesthetics in the lobby and the rooms. The pool was drained during my stay and the jacuzzi water was tepid at best. They did have a nice looking exercise room complete with free weights. They had extra electrical outlets well placed in the lamps for charging cell phones and computers. The front desk staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Top third floor away from the stairs and elevators would be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Alvin. Unfortunately, we are in the process of installing our Chair Lift becoming ADA compliant. For this reason only, the pool was drained. I apologize that this happened during your stay! We hope you do come back and welcome any additional feedback you can give. This will only help us improve!

Cheryl Williams and the Staff of the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Alvin...Your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days recently on a trip to the Houston area. Alvin is a small town a bit out of the way (which can be nice) but not too far from both downtown Houston and Galveston beach.

The hotel is very clean with a nice little pool and hot tub outside. The free breakfast was fantastic and features the usual Holiday Inn Express items such as fresh made pancakes, eggs, biscuits, gravy, etc. Free wireless internet was also an unexpected plus. There is a small but adequate gym as well as a business center with two PC's. From the front desk to the ladies preparing breakfast, everyone was extremely friendly.

We stayed in room 101 which is the first room off the lobby and a handicap room. The bathroom was HUGE (probably because of the room type). The only complaint here is that the shower is a roll in type. Because of this the bathroom floor flooded every time we took a shower. Not a big deal, just a small inconvenience. The room itself was big with a nice 32" LCD TV. Like a few other properties I've stayed at, while there is a nice HD TV in the room, the channels are not in HD and look terrible. The channel selection was also not very good. Again this is just a minor complaint. I should also note that the beds are super comfortable.

There are a number of good places in the area to eat as well as a Walmart just minutes away.

Overall experience was great and would definitely stay here again given the chance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank promoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you so much for the kind review. We pride ourselves on giving the best service and accommodations. Most of all, thanks for keeping us employed!

Cheryl Williams and Staff
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Alvin, Texas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We decided we wanted to go to Galveston, during the July 4th weekend, about a week before we wanted to go. Many hotels there were already booked & those that werent were simply out of the range we wanted to pay. This hotel is only around 30 minutes away. It appears to be very new. The lobby was nice and spacious as was the breakfast area. The breakfast selection was decent & the food was comparatively good. The rooms were large, nicely decorated & clean. Very comfortable beds. Staff was very friendly any time we interacted with them. This is a nice little hotel & I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The lobby makes a good first impression, with tile and wood accents. Reception staff are friendly and helpful.

The room itself was large, with high ceilings. It was also clean, modern, and nicely furnished. The interstate is just outside, but it was surprisingly quiet inside with regard to traffic. On the other hand, we heard a lot of noise from people walking around upstairs.

The bathroom was also large, with new tiles and fixtures, and a jacuzzi tub. Unfortunately, the air conditioning choices were either full-blast cold, or nothing.

Breakfast was also included, with all the usual selections, and served in a large, comfortable dining room.

One tip: "Joe's Bar-B-Q" is just a couple of blocks away (ask for directions from the staff). It's a great place for dinner with lots of real Texas atmosphere; we liked it so much we ate there two nights in a row.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are constantly trying to improve ourselves. Let us know if we can do anything additionally to improve. As always, thank you for your patronage and hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here the night before our cruise. The hotel was so nice and it smelled so good and was very clean. The staff was very nice. Checking in was a breeze as well as checking out.

Our room was very nice and roomy. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was nice and the shower was great. There is plenty of hot water. The soaps, shampoo and conditioner they provide smells soooo good.

Breakfast is a real treat. Everything is so good and you have a wide variety of breakfast foods/drinks to choose from.

We will be going on another cruise and you can bet I will stay here again. I have stayed at the La Quinta next door. Both hotels are great however, Holiday Inn Express rates slightly higher.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 423Liz423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We'd love to see you cruise through Alvin this year! Thanks for the response and keeping us employed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Going to alvin wasnt the town that i wanted to stay in, but a friend of mine recommended the Holiday Inn in alvin and im so glad i stayed there. Great Breakfast, Great Staff, Great EVERYTHING. My next business trip that leads me that way, no doubts about it, i will be staying there again. Front desk was amazing, Kim & Brandon were the best, they treated me like i was family and helped me with directions & housekeeper mary was very accomodating as well. Rooms were excellent, and hotel is in great condition. Cant wait to go back and stay.

Room Tip: Ask Brandon for any Upgrades & Discounts, he really help me out with being a new Priority member...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you very much for the kind review. We are constantly trying to improve ourselves. Let us know if we don't exceed your expectations. Hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvin
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Alvin
1.4 mi away
Alvin Extended Stay
Alvin Extended Stay
#5 of 8 in Alvin
13 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Alvin/Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Alvin
Super 8 Alvin
#2 of 8 in Alvin
164 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Manvel Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Scottish Inns & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin

Address: 900 S Bypass 35, Alvin, TX 77511-4170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Alvin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Alvin
Price Range: $114 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alvin; the best hotel for guests in town for a vacation or business trip. We are conveniently and centrally located near Galveston and Hobby Airport. All of our spacious guest rooms have been updated and now have a contemporary feel to please every one of our guests. With our Complimentary Express Start Breakfast Buffet every morning to fuel your long day of, there's no better place for a vacation or business trip Many guests appreciate our amenities directed toward business-minded individuals, which include free Wi-Fi and free parking. Our 24-hour Business Center gives easy access to convenient fax, printer, and copying services. Further, guests looking to gather with colleagues can meet in our boardroom for a seminar, presentation, or other event. Guests can stay entertained and relaxed, while using our outdoor pool, and fitness center. Look forward to your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alvin! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Houston-Alvin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing