We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel, not too far from Galveston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Alvin
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We decided we wanted to go to Galveston, during the July 4th weekend, about a week before we wanted to go. Many hotels there were already booked & those that werent were simply out of the range we wanted to pay. This hotel is only around 30 minutes away. It appears to be very new. The lobby was nice and spacious as was the breakfast area. The breakfast selection was decent & the food was comparatively good. The rooms were large, nicely decorated & clean. Very comfortable beds. Staff was very friendly any time we interacted with them. This is a nice little hotel & I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 84 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

The lobby makes a good first impression, with tile and wood accents. Reception staff are friendly and helpful.

The room itself was large, with high ceilings. It was also clean, modern, and nicely furnished. The interstate is just outside, but it was surprisingly quiet inside with regard to traffic. On the other hand, we heard a lot of noise from people walking around upstairs.

The bathroom was also large, with new tiles and fixtures, and a jacuzzi tub. Unfortunately, the air conditioning choices were either full-blast cold, or nothing.

Breakfast was also included, with all the usual selections, and served in a large, comfortable dining room.

One tip: "Joe's Bar-B-Q" is just a couple of blocks away (ask for directions from the staff). It's a great place for dinner with lots of real Texas atmosphere; we liked it so much we ate there two nights in a row.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are constantly trying to improve ourselves. Let us know if we can do anything additionally to improve. As always, thank you for your patronage and hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here the night before our cruise. The hotel was so nice and it smelled so good and was very clean. The staff was very nice. Checking in was a breeze as well as checking out.

Our room was very nice and roomy. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was nice and the shower was great. There is plenty of hot water. The soaps, shampoo and conditioner they provide smells soooo good.

Breakfast is a real treat. Everything is so good and you have a wide variety of breakfast foods/drinks to choose from.

We will be going on another cruise and you can bet I will stay here again. I have stayed at the La Quinta next door. Both hotels are great however, Holiday Inn Express rates slightly higher.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 423Liz423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We'd love to see you cruise through Alvin this year! Thanks for the response and keeping us employed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Going to alvin wasnt the town that i wanted to stay in, but a friend of mine recommended the Holiday Inn in alvin and im so glad i stayed there. Great Breakfast, Great Staff, Great EVERYTHING. My next business trip that leads me that way, no doubts about it, i will be staying there again. Front desk was amazing, Kim & Brandon were the best, they treated me like i was family and helped me with directions & housekeeper mary was very accomodating as well. Rooms were excellent, and hotel is in great condition. Cant wait to go back and stay.

Room Tip: Ask Brandon for any Upgrades & Discounts, he really help me out with being a new Priority member...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you very much for the kind review. We are constantly trying to improve ourselves. Let us know if we don't exceed your expectations. Hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very good customer service. Very clean room. Only complaint, hot tub heater was not working. Great breakfast, and attendant at breakfast was very helpful. I'd recommend this hotel, and I'm very picky.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProDoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear ProDoula,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. It is always nice to hear our staff provided you excellent customer service; after all we are here to make your stay enjoyable. However, we apologize for the issues you experienced with the condition of the hot tub heater during your recent stay. I have noted you valuable comments and I will make sure that this will be looked into and be forwarded to the department involved to improve on our guest satisfaction.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here just this past weekend. We had a planned trip to go to Moody Gardens and Galveston Beach but did not want to stay on the island due to VERY HIGH hotel prices and decided to stay in Alvin. What a wonderful hotel!! Very clean, very nice staff, and a great breakfast! All the staff members were very friendly and were also friendly to my 1 yr old son. The breakfast had lots to choose from including eggs, meat and even a fancy pancake maker! We will definitely stay here again when going to Galveston! Thanks for such wonderful service!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for our weekend vacation to Galveston. It's a 30 minute drive to the island, so it was no biggie, we planned for drive time :) The front desk staff was excellent - very helpful - even printed out directions to our destination. We reserved a standard room with two queen beds. Next time we will opt for a double queen suite; with our family of 5 it was a little tight. The room was clean, and had no signs of having been smoked in. The beds were comfortable, as were the pillows. The bathroom was clean as well and they provided the basic toiletries- soap, lotion, shampoo, conditioner, as well as mouthwash. The towels were fluffy, and new. The bathtub drain leaked just a little bit, but not so much that you couldn't enjoy your bath. The water got really hot which is a plus for me! The swimming pool was small, but our kids still had fun. The hot tub was out of service, the heater was broken, but hey, it's Texas. Who needs a hot tub? LOL! The breakfast choices were average - donuts, muffins, bananas, bagels, cereal, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, toast, juices and coffee. The food was average; the coffee was good. If you happen to forget anything (like I forgot the baby's bag at home-yikes! lol) there is a Wal-Mart super center right down the road that is open 24 hours. All in all we would stay there again if given the chance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aaryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel. We really try to go above and beyond for you, our guest. I have noted your concern and will implement a new procedure to communicate better at check-in regarding debit and credit payment policies. If there is any other feedback, please let us know. Again, thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Alvin....your home away from home!


Cheryl and the team at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Alvin Texas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvin hotels
1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Alvin
1.4 mi away
Alvin Extended Stay
Alvin Extended Stay
#6 of 8 in Alvin
13 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Alvin/Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scottish Inns & Suites
1.2 mi away
Motel 6 Alvin, TX
Motel 6 Alvin, TX
#5 of 8 in Alvin
64 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Alvin
Super 8 Alvin
#2 of 8 in Alvin
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin

Address: 900 S Bypass 35, Alvin, TX 77511-4170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Alvin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Alvin
Price Range: $122 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alvin; the best hotel for guests in town for a vacation or business trip. We are conveniently and centrally located near Galveston and Hobby Airport. All of our spacious guest rooms have been updated and now have a contemporary feel to please every one of our guests. With our Complimentary Express Start Breakfast Buffet every morning to fuel your long day of, there's no better place for a vacation or business trip Many guests appreciate our amenities directed toward business-minded individuals, which include free Wi-Fi and free parking. Our 24-hour Business Center gives easy access to convenient fax, printer, and copying services. Further, guests looking to gather with colleagues can meet in our boardroom for a seminar, presentation, or other event. Guests can stay entertained and relaxed, while using our outdoor pool, and fitness center. Look forward to your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alvin! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Houston-Alvin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing