We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recently updated.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Alvin/Houston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Alvin/Houston
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Alvin
Lufkin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Recently updated.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in April then again this weekend. It's been updated in that time. Lots more modern and seems like it had a thorough cleaning. Comfy beds and very clean, free breakfast was a perk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank green_eyed_mommy_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvialvin, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Alvin/Houston, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are not perfect, however, we do strive to make each guest experience great. We thank you for sharing feedback. We are constantly trying to improve ourselves. If we can do anything to improve our guest experience, please let us know! Thank you again for staying at the Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Alvin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
7
9
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willis, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Americas Best Value In Alvin, TX for apprx. 5 nights. It was your average older motel with an clean appearance upon first glance. But there were some problems with the room, such as a cracked toilet seat that would pinch you when you sat down and the old blue velvet blankets full of holes and cigarette burns.

One morning I had noticed that my toothbrush had a stray hair on it, Upon trying to remove the stray hair, a whole mass of of long blonde hair came out of the toothbrush, like something you would pull out of a drain. I know the hair could not have been mine, because I have dark shaved hair. It appeared to me that they had used it to "clean" something with it. The next morning the hotel staff was notified of the issue then we checked out early and moved to the Holiday Inn Express next door. (Nice clean hotel by the way)

The Americas Best Value Inn was seemingly unhappy about having to refund us for the remainder of our stay due to checking out early and we went about our way.

A few hours later they began harassing us about a stain on the mattress, stating that we had to pay for a new mattress and claimed that we had vandalized the room. Shortly after the phone call the proprietor, Yogi filed the police report.
I have obtained the police report and the report states as follows: "It's obvious the boss, Yogi, is reporting the housekeeping inconvenience because of his anger towards "us" (name removed). Yogi is using the police department to get back at "us" (name removed) No damage occurred"

Upon returning to the hotel to dispute the damages, they allowed me to inspect the room. The stains on the mattress appeared old, and there was a variety of different colored stains. I had tried to document the stains with my camera phone and was immediately rushed from the room by hotel staff. Upon being removed from the room I had left to Alvin police department to speak with the officer that had handled the report.

I would highly encourage anyone reading this review to stay clear of this hotel, Not to mention the psychological damage of the contaminated toothbrush, I had to take time out of my busy day to visit with the hotel, as well as the Alvin police department about the "vandalism" and quite possibly my credit card company to fight the charge for the new mattress.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LAWFirearms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place is a good value and good location to everything I needed. Staff were nice and helpful. The Breakfast was good, but they need more help, they got slammed when we came in and one lady was rushing to restock all the food but she had a hard time keeping up. Rooms were a little outdated but comfortable and honestly thats all I care about.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fordntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights when visiting family n the area. We arrived in the evening and were tired and when we walked into our non smoking room it stank of smoke. We went back to reception who only had one room available that needed cleaning as it had been a late check out. The reception staff went with the night manager to get the room ready, nothing too much trouble. Good breakfast choices, rooms all spotless. We had another problem with guest in next room, very loud and noisy but again, the night manager took care of it. Will definitely stay here again, can really recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wanted to be fairly near Galveston the day before leaving on a cruise. As I had seen positive reviews (but no recent ones), decided to take a chance. We were not disappointed. The room was very nice. The pool looked inviting ( wrong season though). The reception and breakfast areas were appealing. A hot breakfast was advertised and there were hot items. It is a fairly small location, so breakfast was on a smaller scale than if it had been a large "Inn". All necessary choices were available however.
I think this is a location where workers (construction/road?) stay as there were a lot of what appeared to be work trucks parked there. No problems.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loves Park, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Everything was perfect, we had the pool to ourselves all three days we stayed. Pool was well kept, rooms were beautiful, staff was amazing. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. They made our stay completely enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

My job requires me to travel throughout the country.I stayed in more than my fair share of hotels.Americas Best Value Inn-Alvin is very captivating and only for half the price of most hotels that cost $100 or more,you recieve the same quality of every aspect of a comfortable stay if not more of it.It is guranteed if my occupation lands me in the vicinity of this establishment there is no doubt where my head will lay for the evening!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DA-DJINN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvin
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Alvin
Super 8 Alvin
#3 of 8 in Alvin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alvin Extended Stay
Alvin Extended Stay
#6 of 8 in Alvin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Alvin
1.1 mi away
Scottish Inns & Suites
20.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Angleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Alvin/Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Alvin/Houston

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Alvin/Houston
Address: 1588 S Bypass 35, Alvin, TX 77511-4101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Alvin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Alvin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Alvin/Houston 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn and Suites of Alvin, Texas. We not only offer the best accommodations for the busy business person, but also the ideal place for a family trip. We are conveniently located 20 miles south of Houston and 30 minutes north of beautiful, historic Galveston. Nearby attractions include:• Alvin Community College• Bayou Wildlife Park• Froberg's Fruit and Vegetable Farm• NASA Space Center• Galveston Island• Kemah Boardwalk. Our 2-story, exterior design Inn offers 36 nicely furnished guestrooms that feature high-speed Internet Access, HBO and ESPN, free local calls, hairdryer, iron, microwave, mini-fridge and more. We have an elegantly furnished lobby which features a fireplace plus a breakfast area where a complimentary incredible breakfast is served fresh daily. We are a pet-friendly hotel; stay fees apply. Enjoy our sparkling pool and other property amenities such as our guest laundry facility, covered BBQ area, fax/copy services, ample parking and free morning newspaper. Come relax and explore the value at the Americas Best Value Inn and Suites of Alvin, Texas. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, Americas Best Value Inn and Suites provides friendly customer service, excellent accommodations and affordable rates. Make us your home away from home during your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Alvin/Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing