We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy but ok”
Review of Highland Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alpine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highland Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Reviewed January 29, 2011

This motel isn't much to look at on the outside, but the room was clean. It is very basic. No soap or shampoo was provided, so keep that in mind. The attendant at the front desk was very friendly and welcoming. Hotel is directly across the street from Sul Ross, so very convenient for those visiting students. Train tracks run right behind hotel, but only noticed train horns in the morning. Noise from the dance club located on property was heard up until closing at 2am. There are better and nicer places in Alpine, but if you are on a budget, and not looking for a lot of extras, this place will work for you.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojo1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 44 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2010

nothing fancy. we traveled with our dogs and this was not a problem. bring your own towels, kleenex and pillows if you're picky. very clean and nice staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eweed333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

In a town with over priced accommodations, the Highland Inn seems out of place. The rooms are basic with tile floors and no pictures on the walls. The mattresses are not "pillow top" and there are no fancy locks on the doors into the rooms. The office staff is friendly and the location is safe. The room was clean and there were no unresolved maintainence issues.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Paid $50 for the room. Was perfect for what we wanted. It was clean comfortable and cheap. There was a mini fridge and microwave. Shower head could be a little better.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadams789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Clean, simple rooms with fridge and microwave. Across the street from Sul Ross SU. The staff was helpful, and gave advice for our trip to Big Bend. The pool was closed when we were there, though.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank codhollandaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Was clean and comfortable. Was nice to have a minifridge and microwave. But theres no coffee pot. Like the other review, bare bones but good value.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gottrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

We stayed overnight in Alpine in mid-August. The room was large, cool, and clean. The office staff was very friendly and the morning coffee was good in the lobby. The rooms had a fridge and I think a microwave. A good value for a clean and quiet stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RADCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alpine hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
419 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Alpine
Oak Tree Inn Alpine
#10 of 13 in Alpine
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Inn

Address: 1404 East US Highway 90, Alpine, TX 79831
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: $34 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing