We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Maverick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Maverick Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
Aubrey, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Comfortable bed in a small room. Clean very small bathroom. Trains woke me twice in the night. Breakfast doesn't start until 8:00 am which is too late for me and many travelers. All right for a night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    97
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
96
153
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I was a singular female alone on the road and made Alpine, TX my pit stop on the way to Truth or Consequences, NM. This place is such a nice surprise. It's cozy, it's cute and the rooms are furnished so nicely. It was above and beyond what I expected from a small inn on the side of the road. Much better than any hotel. They have a nice kitchen to use in the lobby, the lobby seems to be open late, they provide you with a coffee and a coffee pot in the room (always a plus for me), everything was clean, the bed was comfortable. Despite the train that passes every so often (it's so loud), everything was pleasant. I mean, they even give you earplugs for the trains... how thoughtful. Overall, great experience and comfortable accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

My son and I took road trip to California and stopped here on the way. This was not a full service resort hotel ,nor did it pretend to be. But the hotel and grounds were very nice and well maintained.It kind of looked like the hotel belonged in Phoenix. The best part was how nice and well informed the staff was. Felt very comfortable and relaxed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernTraveler1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

The room we had was small. The toilet area was so small that my arms touched the walls on each side, and had to be careful because the bathroom door opened to within a foot of the toilet area. The shower was very small also. The bed was sloping down toward the head slightly but with the pillows it was comfortable. This hotel was highly rated and I was disappointed. We wanted to leave early (7am) but had to wait until 8 am because no one was in the office till then. If there were rooms that looked like the ones in the web page, we didn't get one.

Room Tip: The rooms are close to the street & railroad tracks but the inn supplies ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Traveled with my family to Big Bend and Ft Davis. Picked Alpine as central point. Rooms were limited due to Memorial Day holiday. It was a nice hotel with rustic decor and nice tile floors but not recommended for a family of four. The furniture in the room literally took up all of the living space. Not sure why such a large entertainment center was deemed necessary for such a tiny fridge (smaller than a dorm room's) and microwave. Hit my knee on the bench at the end of the bed trying to get to the AC on the back wall (had to squeeze between bed and entertainment center to get to it. I am less than 200lbs. Larger guests would only be able to access it by climbing over bed). The shower stall was about the size of a phone booth. Overall, it seemed like the hotel staff tried to squeeze an extra room into what had once been part of two other rooms. When you rent a king suite, you don't expect to get a room the size of a cabin on a cruise ship. Breakfast was lacking. The pastries were good but not hot and there were no hot items to choose from period. Staff was very friendly and the hotel had a nice vibe. If you are looking for a bed and breakfast type feel for a romantic getaway, this would be a good place. If you are traveling for business or with your family, I suggest you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Forgot to mention that the train passed through around 11:00PM blowing its whistle and there was a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The room was spacious but needing a lot of TLC. Problems began with hair all over the sheets when we checked in. Went to the office and they gave us clean sheets which we changed. Ceiling fan was a nice addition but it did not work. Hot water handle fell off in the shower. Dead bolt on the door didn't engage. The little deck next to the room was so dirty and in disrepair it was unusable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckstertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Chuckstertx:
Let me be the first to apologize for the condition your room was in when you checked in and secondly thank you for bringing it to our attention. I firmly believe that we can fix our issues if our guest bring them to our attention. The Maverick Inn has gone thru some management changes and new employees and we are all trying to come together as a TEAM and fix the issues at hand. I hope that you allow and give us a chance to show you that we can provide the service you expect from us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had the most delightful stay at this wonderful little motor court with a modern flare. Our room was lovely with comfortable king bed, a large walk in shower and beautifully decor. We really loved the little balcony that was so comfortable to sit on in both the early morning and evening.
The continental breakfast was definitely a step above the ordinary with amazing locally roasted coffee, delicious pastries, bagels, scones and English muffins as well as a large assortment of fruit juices and yogurt. We could start the day of playing tourist off right. Since we travel with our little beagle, we found the Maverick Inn to be pet friendly as well. Our "little one" was greeted with her own snacks too enjoy too. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very pleasant, and the atmosphere absolutely delightful. We will definitely return to relax and decompress from the big city. Thank you for making our get away such a pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommybeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura L, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Mommybeagle:

Thank you very much for your review and the kind words. We really do hope ya'll have a chance to return in the near future. Thank you Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
2.9 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maverick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maverick Inn

Property: The Maverick Inn
Address: 1200 E Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-5108
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maverick Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a boutique historic hotel, we've got you covered. The Maverick Inn features rooms with luxury amenities, a complimentary country breakfast, and high speed Internet access. We are located across the street from Sul Ross State University and are near Big Bend National Park. Come stay with us at The Maverick Inn, the True Roadhouse for Wanderers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Maverick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing