We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Maverick Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Highland Inn(Alpine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Value Lodge(Alpine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Alpine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveler rating
259
119
34
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
119
34
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmotor courtgarden tubfire pitbig bendwest texasyogurtsaltillo tilesul ross universitysister propertycontinental breakfastbiscuitsadobe stylewalls are thinroadside motelsausageacross the streetthe young lady
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 430 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

What a surprise! I feel like we are stepping back in time just a little. So quaint and charming. Very clean, well decorated, comfortable beds, and warm staff. There is a train that runs through town but even that is charming. We will be back for sure.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Donald,

Thank you very much for your review, since you're no stranger to West Texas, it nice to know that we can give you something different in a throwback experience.

Thanks Again,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The rooms are huge, well decorated and very western funky. Everyone on the staff is extraordinarily helpful and when we had a very early morning departure, they made breakfast items available to us the night before to keep in our room refrigerator. Yummy cinnamon buns and more. Head across the street to the Big Bend Museum to get a sense of the park you will be visiting next.
The trains do go by at night, but they provide ear plugs and I honestly was not bothered by the sound of a train whistle in the wide open spaces at night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raggazza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you! I'm glad to see that "funky" is still an appreciated style because I know we are and glad that you enjoyed it! We really do thank you for your review, it means a lot to us that you reviewed places in 40+ cities and we take that to heart. Come on back for cinnamon rolls anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Not only did we get a beautiful room, the office even called us while on the road to make sure we were OK when we missed our 1pm check-in. The bed was super comfy and breakfast was packed with wonderful baked goods.

Room Tip: Ask for room 10, it has a great attached patio.
Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank starbuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Stars and Buttons,

Thank you for the stars you gave us on your stay with us. Room 10 is or most private room and I'm so glad you enjoyed that (it's nice having the back door to breakfast also), but I hope you can return in the spring when that courtyard is all green! Thank you again for your review!

Mark Spring

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Travelling with our dog from Maine to Arizona and after a stop in San Antonio, wanted to take scenic Rte 90 via Alpine and Marfa. We made reservations at the Maverick Inn but never expected it to be so quaint and cute. Our room had a very small bathroom, but it was still very attractive. The staff are very friendly and the continental breakfast is super. I would definitely return to The Maverick - it was cute and fun and very western.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Christine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you very much for your review and the kind words about our "Western Feel"! We really do hope you'll have a chance to return in the future. Thank you again...Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We truly enjoyed our two night stay at The Maverick Inn in Alpine, Texas. The room was clean and attractive. The king size bed was very comfortable and our room had tons of privacy. We even had our own patio! We brought our weimaraner along and everyone was so friendly to him. Delicious pastries and kolaches from a local bakery were served in the breakfast room each morning. So glad we stayed here!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank aTXFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Well we are sure glad that you stayed us, because we know you didn't come for the fishing. Thanks for your review and the mention of our pet friendly attitudes. Please let us know when you pass this way again, we'll make sure and have the "doggie treats" out! Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews