We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, unique, and comfortable!”
Review of The Maverick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maverick Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were looking for a nice place to stay in Alpine for a reasonable price, and were lucky enough to find this place. The room was very clean yet rustic. It had all of the modern amenities, and was very romantic. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: You can negotiate with the front desk to get the room with a king bed for the queen rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrx2surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, General Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Surfer,
The good fortune was ours and I'm so glad that you did find. Thank you for the review and I really do hope you'll stay with us the next time your in the Big Bend!
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 423 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

I had stayed at the Maverick Inn two or three years ago on a trip to the Big Bend, and really enjoyed it. Last weekend, I was in Dallas, headed toward Salt Lake City and home, when I saw a huge ice storm was predicted. My planned route took me straight through it, Clearly, it behooved me to find another way home, so I headed south and west. Logically, I should've stopped at Ft. Stockton, but I had such fond memories of the Maverick that I decided it was worth going out of the way. I called for a reservation, telling them that I would get there about 8:00 p.m. It was starting to rain and getting foggy about 7:00 when I got a phone call. It was the desk clerk at the Maverick, calling to see if I was OK. Wow! I felt so appreciated. I was fine, but if I had been in trouble, it was great to know they had my back. Since my plans had changed, I knew I wouldn't have enough clean clothes to get me home. They let me use their washer and dryer---no charge. The room was comfortable and clean, breakfast next morning was yummy. But the feeling of being cared about was priceless.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank utahtexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, General Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

THANK YOU! Your review is priceless also! Thank you so much for being part of The Maverick Family(that is the way we feel about it). I know that the staff is concerned for each and every traveler and I love hearing about that, but I think that what really caught me was that you remembered us from years past originally, I also have a question; your photo on Trip Advisor of the rock tower? I recently hiked the "window trail" in Big Bend and ran across several of these along the trail, were those yours? Thanks again, Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The room was clean and nice. Interesting items of decor. The staff is super friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay again if in the area. Breakfast was a great start to busy days. Can't say enough good things about the friendliness of both the staff and the other wanderers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DubyaDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, General Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

WW,
Thank you! I especially thank you for the words about the friendliness of the staff. I believe The Maverick's a great little inn, but the people make it an exceptional one, so thanks again and "happy wandering"...Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful relief to finally get to Alpine and The Maverick!
We had spent 3 nights in Van Horn, stranded due to the ice storm. When we finally were safely able to drive, we arrived in Marfa only to discover that power had not yet been restored. So thankfully we were able to get a room at the Maverick and were so relieved! The staff was friendly, and generous. Well-sized rooms, clean and functional. Snacks and drinks were available throughout the day. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful-good, strong coffee, home-made muffins, turnovers and pastries. The home made granola was terrific!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Moreauds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, General Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for the review and we're glad you made it safely to Alpine and so very glad that we didn't disappoint. Please don't wait to get stuck again to visit again. Thank you and Happy Holidays! Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed at the Maverick Inn (Alpine, Tx) first of November (after the Terlingua Chili Cook-off--by design). Don't see why anyone stays in "chain" hotels anymore with accommodations like this. Georgie in reception was a treasure; Mike the GM of both the Maverick and Hoffman Hotel in "downtown Alpine" very friendly and nice to talk with. Our room was huge--plenty of room for two retired ladies-also clean and a great coffee/tea service. We'd heard about "the night train" before going but it really wasn't an issue. We were on the front of the property and the train runs behind the inn. Loved the atmosphere in and around the place (patio, fire pit, 1960s vintage trailer, even the feral cats). Alpine is really the jewel in the Big Bend crown for me. Breakfast was also wonderful, going way beyond the "continental" label.

Room Tip: We enjoyed # 11 next to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalloweenLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, General Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Halloween Lady,
We are just glad you survived the "Chili Cook-off" to rest up with us. Thank you very much for the wonderful review and especially for your compliments on the staff, that always brightens our day!
We sure hope to see you next year for "chili-recuperation" if not sooner!
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived at the front desk the young lady had welcomed us and showed concerned since we were late checking in. We were told of all the accommodation before we could even ask. Breakfast was provided and even food to go.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Imelda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, General Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Imelda,
Thank you! I believe I have the best staff in the Big Bend and we do have true concern for all of our travelers. Thanks for staying with us during "showcase" and I hope we see you in the future...Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Maverick inn is a very nice small hotel in western style. The staff was very friendly. The room was nice and clean but the bathroom was very small. We just came from Big Bend state park and we're very tired but we couldn't sleep all night because of the uncomfortable bed and the railroad noise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinaRS39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, General Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your review and I'm very glad that you found us a nice hotel. I really appreciate your comments concerning the staff. Because we are an 85 year old hotel we do have some limitations and i apologize for any discomfort, it was good to have you stay with us...Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#1 of 13 in Alpine
520 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
585 reviews
3 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maverick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maverick Inn

Address: 1200 E Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-5108
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: $112 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maverick Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a boutique historic hotel, we've got you covered. The Maverick Inn features rooms with luxury amenities, a complimentary country breakfast, and high speed Internet access. We are located across the street from Sul Ross State University and are near Big Bend National Park. Come stay with us at The Maverick Inn, the True Roadhouse for Wanderers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Maverick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing