We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & Quiet...”
Review of The Maverick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maverick Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Everybody was friendly...breakfast was excellant, fresh daily homemade baked goods. No rush to wake you up to eat...it was available when you wanted a snack also! Hospitality was excellant, and was advised where to go and enjoy the sights and museums. Had a great time watching the Marfa Lights...we had an active viewing of them on a Moonless night, had a great view of the Milky Way Galaxy. We had a great time driving around taking pictures of the Mountains and sights around Ft. Davis and the McDonald Observatory. Not a Long Drive to Ft. Davis and Marfa...We are definitely coming back to The Maverick Inn, we are making future trips to visit Big Bend National Park...We heard the Mountians were Magnificent and Majestic...towering above everything! We Loved the Peacefulness of not having a phone in the room...what for...we went for the relaxation away from the City hassel, you cell phone will Text anyway. Plus we loved crusing the Highway going 85-90 Miles per Hour...Legally!

Room Tip: Just right for the event of being away from it all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vortexas8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

John,
Thank you very much for a wonderful review and re-cap of your trip and stay with us. I hope we get another opportunity to have you as guests on your future trips and I am so glad y'all had a good night viewing the Marfa Lights, now you can back me up when I say they are real! I'm not quite sure that all of traveling speeds were completely legal, but I sure do love an open road with wide open skies and my foot on the accelerator:-) Thanks again, Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 423 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have been married for 26 years this past July 4th, We took a 4 day vacation to Alpine and surrounding areas, because my husband had lived there as a young man. I wanted something relatively inexpensive, but not a room that looks like all the others. The Maverick Inn fit the requirement perfectly. The management was friendly, and accommodating, We had a huge tub in our room and the bathroom was the size of the bedroom. I will certainly stay there again. Train tracks run behind the establishment and Sul Ross University is directly across the street. They provide ear plugs should you need them.

Room Tip: Has a patio and pool, with pool towels and robes provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Les,
Thank you for the review! I really appreciate your comment about the value we have instilled and I am so glad, as a Senior Reviewer you recognized that and passed it on. I hope we see you on your next anniversary trip.
Mark
PS. I really liked the comment about the pool robes, that was a late addition to our amenities!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Maverick is not the newest or the biggest motel in town, but it just might be the friendliest! We made our reservation in advance based on Trip Advisor research, and were not let down. Location is perfect, across the street fro Sul Ross State University. The front desk was helpful and friendly from the get go, and made us feel right at home. Our room was cozy, had WIFI, coffee, walk in extra large shower , bedding of comfort, and extra high ceiling. The place is an older property, that has been updated, to pass as an a 'Route66" style stop over, and it works. Stay and you won't feel like you have just stopped at another chain motel!

Room Tip: We enjoyed #31...it had an extra bed, where we could throw all our stuff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you! It always means so much to me when we receive a review from a traveler that has reviewed several other hotels. I also appreciate your compliments on our friendliness. This staff makes me very proud as a manager with the pride they have in make everyone feel special and truly doing whatever it takes to make you comfortable. Thanks again...Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This was my second time to stay here while attending the Ranch Rodeo. Our entire team and families stay here where we are all together in one spot. Mark and the entire staff are so helpful and make you feel so welcome. The decor of the rooms and entire grounds area is so attractive. A lot of work had been done in the patio area since last year. Really pretty!! The Inn takes you back in time to the days of the motor hotel but it is certainly many, many steps ahead of that. Pool is great and breakfast is full of delicious fresh pastries. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Susan,
Thank you soooo much! It is always great to have y'all here and of course Ranch Rodeo fits the Maverick to a "T', so we really appreciate knowing we took good care of you. It is people like y'all that make it all worthwhile when we have a bad day. Thanks again, Mark
PS. I really appreciate you commenting on the courtyard improvements too:-)
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Recognizing that there are a number of fine establishments in Alpine, it is hard to imagine there is a better value than the Maverick Inn. A nice retro-style (but fully updated) motel, each room is uniquely decorated and well thought out. The grounds are very pleasant, and the pool patio is especially well done. Friendly service, an excellent breakfast and great location provide more than enough reason to return (I have stayed there two times a few years apart). There is a train track not far from the property, but the trains have never disturbed me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aranawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Well, Thank you to our Canadian friends. Your review is an honor to receive not only as an international traveler, but as a Top Contributor to Trip Advisor. I really appreciate the commendations on the friendly service and excellence in your review title also. Thank you again...Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Enjoyed my stay. Room was lovely. Showerhead could be updated. Although an old drive up motel this inn feels instead like it has mini apartments and your room is serviced just like a hotel. I was able to sleep despite the train passing by. I look forward to returning someday soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Brenda,
Thank you so much for your review! Just to let you know I am replacing those shower heads thanks to reviews and suggestions such as yours, thanks for that. I am so glad you got that feeling of " Maverick comfort" and we're going to get those trains to quiet down soon and hope to see you again soon...Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night in Alpine. Maverick motel is very nice and clean. Staff is bery nice and helpful. Beautiul pool to refresh in texan summer days. We were fiven some free beer at the holand hotel in Alpine sonwe went and dinner there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCNTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you very your review and I'm glad you got a Texas feeling at The Maverick. It's wonderful to have international travelers and especially to hear back form them. Thanks again...Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#1 of 13 in Alpine
520 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
585 reviews
3 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maverick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maverick Inn

Address: 1200 E Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-5108
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: $112 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maverick Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a boutique historic hotel, we've got you covered. The Maverick Inn features rooms with luxury amenities, a complimentary country breakfast, and high speed Internet access. We are located across the street from Sul Ross State University and are near Big Bend National Park. Come stay with us at The Maverick Inn, the True Roadhouse for Wanderers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Maverick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing