We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your passport on day trips to Big Bend !”
Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at this hotel .

We liked :
- the lobby and the Western Charm
- the healthy choices at the complementary breakfast
- the price quality ratio was good
The hotel deserved 5 stars in our opinion, but we found the bar / restaurant not so great
- no beers on tap
- small food portions (especially after a 4 hour hike) , poor service and poor price/quality ratio for the restaurant
If you use this place as a base for travelling to Big Bend, remember to bring your passport on the day trips due to the border controls all around. i had to explain to the Border Control why i left mine in the hotel -- you can avoid that experience
Big Bend / alpine / this hotel are all great places to visit and worth the long drive

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Mr Loo,
Thank you very much for the review! It's always special to me to receive reviews from international travelers. I apologize for the lack of tap beer during your visit, that is not the norm and was due to a defective piece of equipment I was waiting on at the time of your visit. All of our taps are flowing freely these days. I really appreciated your mention of Alpine as a good base for day trips and The Holland with it's charms.
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 520 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

We just returned from staying at the Holland Hotel. It is a great hotel, the staff is wonderful, general manager, enthusiastic and so helpful! The room we stayed in was very nice, comfortable with a jacuzzi bath. It was an older hotel, filled with charm and decor was beautiful The town itself was small, but very inviting and about an hour and a half from Big Bend. They provided a wonderful assortment for their breakfast and coffee all day long.

Room Tip: We stayed in 317 and even though we did not have a view, it was a charming room and very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Janet,
Thank you so much for your review and compliments! It was just great having you in our little town and I'm glad you found plenty to do. I especially appreciate the mention of our breakfast and coffee and even more pleased that you enjoyed it.
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Very laid-back, charming hotel. Lovely courtyard, nice fresh rooms, charming and classy! Lots of original detail in the lobby and rooms. Has a pent-house suite. Offers a great continental breakfast. Call ahead as they book quickly!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you CC,
I really appreciated your mention of the laid back, but classy atmosphere we try to provide, Thanks!
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

A great based for exploring the Big Bend. We had two rooms including a complimentary upgrade to the Penthouse....loved the bedding. This historic hotel exudes authentic charm at all levels with modern upgrades. The lobby is impressive and the newly renovated courtyard is a great place to hang out, especially when a fire is going. Penthouse was a nice upgrade with spectacular views and a private deck with hot tub. Staff was very professional and energized. The dining experience at the Hotel restaurant, The Century Grill, was also very nice ---- recommend short ribs that melt in your mouth and brownie sundae. Love the Big Bend and The Holland Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermontAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Vermonter,
Thank you for the high compliments especially about the bedding and the "feel" of your review. We are all gald that you made your"adventure" in Texas and The Big Bend this time. Thanks again, Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Had premier room but it was run down. Torn curtain, bathroom floor tile missing. Bar staff and desk staff friendly. Others aloof and not all that happy to see customers. Next time I'll go to the new Hampton Inn in town. Too bad.

Room Tip: Check out the room before you pay too much for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Jim,
Thank you for your review and I am truly sorry that your experience here was a disappointment. We had discussed that curtain at breakfast and I had it replaced after your departure and I appreciate your bringing to my attention. I'd love the opportunity to win you back and you are welcome to call me directly at 432.837.2803 in order to express my sincerity.
Thank you,
Mark Spring,GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Holland House Hotel is very clean, quaint and has all the amenities of modern hotels, but rooms are small. The train passes by the hotel every few hours. Ear plugs are provided. The room is so clean and fresh. Worthwhile to visit. They provide in-room, real glass glasses and china coffee mugs--really appreciated for travelers.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bentleybeagledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for the review. Sometimes we wonder if the little things are noticed or appreciated, I sure thank you for letting me know they are and more importantly that they were a comfort to you. Thank you again, Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you would like to experience living history in an elegant hotel setting then be sure to stay at the Holland Hotel. Beautifully restored features throughout highlight your stay. If you can splurge for the Jacuzzi Suite (at least for one night) to enjoy modern luxury in a southwest motif. The hotel staff provided excellent service during our entire 4-night stay. The breakfast nook featured locally baked goodies...be sure to try a the huge delicious cinnamon bun (and take one with you for that usually long drive ahead). Also take the time to explore the hotel lobby and all the history that is on display there. Complimentary billiard table is also available to pass the time. Plenty to see and do in Alpine as it is quickly becoming an artist destination. And the West Texas area offers spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Cna't wait to return there!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicemeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for being nice and not a meany with us. Thank you very much for a heartfelt review and the notes on the little touches we have tried to add from the billiards to our breakfast offerings. I sure hope you can make back in the future! Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
423 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
303 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
2.2 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
76 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Address: 209 W Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-4634
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: $146 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing