We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel With Lots of Character”
Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I recently spent one night at the Holland Hotel. The last time I stayed there was about 12 years ago. My recollection of the hotel then was that it was a pretty nice hotel in downtown Alpine. Nothing special...but not bad. The hotel has been significantly renovated since then and I truly loved the place. The hotel is across the street from the Amtrak station. There are a number of trains that go through Alpine, day and night. Thus, the hotel provides earplugs in the room. I did not use mine and I never heard a train all night. The staff were great and the room was suitably sized for a person travelling by himself. The lobby is quite impressive with lots of nooks and crannies to explore. The hotel serves a decent continental breakfast in the AM. What is nice is that you can eat it indoors or outdoors in the hotel's private patio. Nice! The breakfast choices are standard fare for hotel breakfasts, but there are plenty of choices to keep most folks happy and full. My only complaint was with the coffee. It was a la Folgers. Admittedly being a coffee snob, I think the Holland could find some better coffee for their guests. That truly was my only complaint. I loved Alpine and loved the Holland. I will return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calumet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

I am so thankful you took the time to write a review on your recent stay here with us. We value your loyalty and are so thankful you choose us whenever you are in Alpine! The hotel has had many upgrades recently and as a staff we strive to improve our services especially with our repeat guests! We have also upgraded our coffee to include a specialty roast provided by Big Bend Coffee Roasters, we hope you like it! Please let us know when you will be in Alpine again!
Warm Regards
Julie
julie@thehollandhoteltexas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 508 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Really enjoyed the décor. The food was great had the steak and shrimp. The steak melted in your mouth. Nice king size bed and we did not hear the trains. Enjoyed looking at the old pictures and how they have restored the building.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent stay! The Century Bar and Grill is especially thankful for your lovely compliments on their steak and shrimp! Please let us know when you will be in the area again! I would love to give you a complimentary upgrade to one of our specialty suites! Let me know, thanks again!
Julie
julie@thehollandhoteltexas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at The Holland Hotel in February as part of an extended road trip through the Big Bend area. Even though we "popped in" with no reservations, we were welcomed and made to feel at home right away! There was a fire roaring in the huge fireplace at the end of the great room enticing us to enjoy the overstuffed furniture and reading materials; but not for long since we had complimentary cocktails waiting for us at the Century Bar & Grill. Which, by the way has EXCELLENT food and drinks and is located within the Hotel (martinis and lobster mac 'n cheese for starters!)! The rate was extremely reasonable and included a full breakfast for two and, as I mentioned, two free cocktails! We wound up staying longer than we planned, so on the second night, they upgraded us to a HUGE suite for the same rate! When we got back from our day trip, our luggage had been moved for us!! This hotel was built in the early 1900's but, thankfully, has been beautifully restored, keeping as much of the original woodwork and tile work as possible. Kudos to whoever did the restoration, maintaining all the Holland Hotel's character, but providing all the amenities one could ask for; including internet, elevator, a separate game room w/pool table and a HUGE TV and a very cozy enclosed outdoor patio w/fireplace. Can you tell we LOVED this place and we WILL be back!

Room Tip: The "single" rooms are pretty small; worth it to upgrade to a "double" or a suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience! That is what we strive for and we value our guests feedback in order to do just what you experienced! We are looking forward to your next stay and please let me know when that will be! I would love to offer you a suite you haven't stayed in yet!
Thanks again!
Julie
julie@thehollandhoteltexas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A big thanks to Carla at the Holland. She graciously upgraded our room to a loft because no one was using it! The loft was beautiful with a charming courtyard perfect for enjoying your morning cup of coffee (or a glass of wine in the evening). Now that's what I call Texas hospitality!

Room Tip: The lofts are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas P, Public Relations Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for the kind words. We are glad that we were able to upgrade you and that you enjoyed the lofts! Please come back and see us again. Best regards, Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A very comfortable hotel. Rooms were great. The only minor concern was that the agent failed to mention that breakfast was available as part of the package. We discovered that fact on the second day. However, we did check in late and in a hurry, so in my opinion that was not a major concern. I love the lobby and the central location, with easy parking just outside the hotel. I have recommended this hotel to others, and would love to go back again myself.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed fine to me. I was particularly curious about the penthouse suite, but never got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfsmim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas P, Public Relations Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We are happy that you found your accommodations both comfortable and convenient. Alpine is a great town to walk and check out the restaurants, shops and bars, and we are fortunate to have a central location. Breakfast is included with the standard room rate-- please accept my apologies that we did not bring this to your attention. Come back and see us again! We would be happy to show you our penthouse, as well as some of our other suites. The penthouse has a deck with a hot tub, and a great view of Holland Ave! Best, Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The room I had was beautiful and had the most comfortable bed. The location is great. The staff is so helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is beautiful. Hope to be returning for another stay soon!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddd3230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas P, Public Relations Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! Please let us know when you plan to return to Alpine so that we can take care of you. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best regards, Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Holland Hotel during the Viva Big Bend Festival last weekend. Our second floor room was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. We love the central location of The Holland and the fact that we can walk everywhere once our car is parked. The Century Bar and Grill serves delicious food and is a fun place to socialize with the other hotel guests. We've visited Alpine several times and stayed at The Holland every time. The hotel employees are friendly and helpful and always make The Holland feel like our home away from home. Can't wait to go back to Alpine!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas P, Public Relations Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us during Viva Big Bend, and taking the time to review our property. We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of our central location during the exciting festival. The Century Bar and Grill is a great meeting place to mingle with both locals and visitors. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you as a loyal customer, and hope to see you again soon. Best, Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
418 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
275 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
564 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Address: 209 W Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-4634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: $157 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing