We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect atmosphere for west Texas”
Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The perfect atmosphere for west Texas”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The remodel is perfect! The breakfast is delicious although I must admit I did not stay the weekend to sample Tami's flavored pancake syrups.
The hotel room was so comfortable; the loft room was spacious but I prefer the main hotel.

I got the feeling animals may be allowed to stay in the guest quarters, although I could be wrong.

I will definitely return next year!

By the way, the train did not disturb us. We heard it, of course, but it was rather comforting and I am used to the sounds of trains in the distance where I live.

Room Tip: Guest Loft rooms are a little further away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dp911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas P, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for the review and compliments! I am thrilled that you enjoyed our establishment and hope to see you again soon. Next time, feel free to bring your pets! Pet guests are more than welcome in the hotel. Best regards, Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    110
    33
    8
    3
See reviews for
89
219
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed one night only as part of a road trip, the hotel has a good ambience and the lounge, lobby and bar areas have been renovated to a high standard and authenticity appropriate to an historic building. Our room at the front of the hotel was furnished in a rustic style and whilst charming was a little rough around the edges, the bathroom had seen better days. We enjoyed drinks in the bar, and the inclusion of breakfast was an added bonus to us as we hadn't realised it was included, it was basic but that is all we required. The only reason I have only classed this property as average is the noise of the trains, it really disturbed our sleep, if we had known about them we would not have stayed as we we had a long day of driving ahead of us. If you are a light sleeper like me you should really take this into consideration, I could not wear the earplugs provided as I have a problem with my ears.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenmoredevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas P, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and are sorry about the train situation. I hope that this doesn't keep you from returning-- we would love to have you back. Best, Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We began our six-day stay in Big Bend at the Holland Hotel. We had a room that looked out on the main street and it was nicely furnished with a comfortable king size bed. The bath was small but it is an old hotel that has been updated and it is charming. The room rate included a nice breakfast and a free welcome drink in the hotel's bar. The only down side is that the train station and tracks run parallel to the hotel and you can hear it at night but the hotel furnishes earplugs. It didn't bother us too much. The manager gave us some great tips on restaurants and scenic drives in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgetown78626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us! Sounds like y'all had a great vacation! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and were also able enjoy The Century Bar! The pictures you shared with your review are lovely! Great to see things from a guest perspective. And hopefully our "quiet zone" with our railroad crossings will be in effect soon! We hope to hear from you again!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This was the last night of a 5 day trip through the Big Bend area and it was a great finale! We were given an upgrade to a fabulous room with a large bath. It was so charming and authentic to the restored historic hotel. The lobby was wonderful, dinner and breakfast were great. (And breakfast was included) yes, we heard the trains, but went back to sleep because the bed was so comfy. They provide ear plugs but my ears are small, so they do not fit well. I am sure they work for most people. The town is charming and the museum at Sull Ross University was fabulous. We loved our visit to Alpine. People are friendly and they know how to entertain!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jantexHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely compliments! We are so happy to hear what a great time you all had! Thanks again. We hope to see you all again!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just returned from the area. Stayed one day in Marfa, then the next in Alpine!
Everything was within walking distance of this quaint little hotel, super value and be sure to eat at the Century Bar and Grill. The food is excellent and the service is great as wel.

We will be back to Alpine and the Holland Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I am so happy to hear what a great time y'all had with us! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay! We love our guest feedback and always look for ways to make sure each stay is better than the last. Please let us know when you will be returning to Alpine!!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryneal,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were impressed from the moment we entered the lobby and noticed the beautiful "elegance" of the rustic decor. The staff was warm and friendly and presented us with two welcoming drink tickets for the Century Bar and Grill. Our room was not only comfortable but just as beautiful as the pictures in their brochure. As we were getting situated in our room we could hear music and decided to check it out. Sure enough they had live music coming from the courtyard...great place to enjoy our drinks. We had a very enjoyable evening and then were treated to a fantastic breakfast the next morning. Located in the heart of Alpine, we were just a short walk from several great little shops down the street. We highly recommend the Holland Hotel to anyone looking for a charming place to stay in the Big Bend region.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davlin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
What a wonderful review! We may have to use this on our website! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay! Special thanks for your lovely comments on our staff and The Century Bar and Grill. They appreciate it very much! Please let us know when you will be returning to Alpine!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time at The Holland Hotel. Got a "Groupon" discount to stay there with some friends. The hotel has nice character and ambiance. The rooms were adequate, food at the restaurant was wonderful and a great value. Breakfast was hot and simple (eggs, sausage, potato, bread, coffee, juice, yogurt & cereal. Fridge and microwave in the room and they provide ear plugs... yes ear plugs! Ok, the TRAIN... Across the street, there is a train station - a VERY BUSY train station. Trains blow their whistle when coming into the station at all hours of the night and thus the need for the ear plugs. We had a room facing the station and even the ear plugs didn't completely drown out the horn at 2 am! Our friends stayed in rooms facing the north side (opposite facing room) of the hotel and said they did not hear the train horn! Here is the important thing... We WOULD STAY AGAIN. Insist on a room on the opposite side of the train station and you should be ok. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Request a room on the North side of the property facing OPPOSITE of the Train Station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasFamilyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are so happy to hear what a great time you had with us! I am also delighted that you and your friends were able to take advantage of our Groupon Promotion! And yes you are correct, we are right across from a very busy train station! We think our trains our quaint, but the City of Alpine and Union Pacific are working on a "silent zone" so hopefully that will pass through soon! We are looking forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
2.2 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Property: Holland Hotel
Address: 209 W Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-4634
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing