We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holland Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Alpine)(Great Value!)
$84
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Value Lodge(Alpine)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveler rating
345
134
37
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
134
37
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streettrain stationbig bendcentury bar and grillhotel restaurantquichegreat bargreat historic hotelwest texaswithin walking distancepillow sprayrestored hotelpool tablelight sleepercontinental breakfastold westprovide ear plugs
Filter
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 531 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was the last night of a 5 day trip through the Big Bend area and it was a great finale! We were given an upgrade to a fabulous room with a large bath. It was so charming and authentic to the restored historic hotel. The lobby was wonderful, dinner and breakfast were great. (And breakfast was included) yes, we heard the trains, but went back to sleep because the bed was so comfy. They provide ear plugs but my ears are small, so they do not fit well. I am sure they work for most people. The town is charming and the museum at Sull Ross University was fabulous. We loved our visit to Alpine. People are friendly and they know how to entertain!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jantexHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely compliments! We are so happy to hear what a great time you all had! Thanks again. We hope to see you all again!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just returned from the area. Stayed one day in Marfa, then the next in Alpine!
Everything was within walking distance of this quaint little hotel, super value and be sure to eat at the Century Bar and Grill. The food is excellent and the service is great as wel.

We will be back to Alpine and the Holland Hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

I am so happy to hear what a great time y'all had with us! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay! We love our guest feedback and always look for ways to make sure each stay is better than the last. Please let us know when you will be returning to Alpine!!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were impressed from the moment we entered the lobby and noticed the beautiful "elegance" of the rustic decor. The staff was warm and friendly and presented us with two welcoming drink tickets for the Century Bar and Grill. Our room was not only comfortable but just as beautiful as the pictures in their brochure. As we were getting situated in our room we could hear music and decided to check it out. Sure enough they had live music coming from the courtyard...great place to enjoy our drinks. We had a very enjoyable evening and then were treated to a fantastic breakfast the next morning. Located in the heart of Alpine, we were just a short walk from several great little shops down the street. We highly recommend the Holland Hotel to anyone looking for a charming place to stay in the Big Bend region.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davlin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

What a wonderful review! We may have to use this on our website! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay! Special thanks for your lovely comments on our staff and The Century Bar and Grill. They appreciate it very much! Please let us know when you will be returning to Alpine!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time at The Holland Hotel. Got a "Groupon" discount to stay there with some friends. The hotel has nice character and ambiance. The rooms were adequate, food at the restaurant was wonderful and a great value. Breakfast was hot and simple (eggs, sausage, potato, bread, coffee, juice, yogurt & cereal. Fridge and microwave in the room and they provide ear plugs... yes ear plugs! Ok, the TRAIN... Across the street, there is a train station - a VERY BUSY train station. Trains blow their whistle when coming into the station at all hours of the night and thus the need for the ear plugs. We had a room facing the station and even the ear plugs didn't completely drown out the horn at 2 am! Our friends stayed in rooms facing the north side (opposite facing room) of the hotel and said they did not hear the train horn! Here is the important thing... We WOULD STAY AGAIN. Insist on a room on the opposite side of the train station and you should be ok. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Request a room on the North side of the property facing OPPOSITE of the Train Station!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasFamilyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

We are so happy to hear what a great time you had with us! I am also delighted that you and your friends were able to take advantage of our Groupon Promotion! And yes you are correct, we are right across from a very busy train station! We think our trains our quaint, but the City of Alpine and Union Pacific are working on a "silent zone" so hopefully that will pass through soon! We are looking forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

After reading some earlier reviews, our expectations for the Holland were not that high. We were trying to figure out what could be the reason why a king room in a historic building would be less than a similar room in a Hampton Inn or a Holiday Inn Express in the same town. After spending a night at The Holland, the price disparity is even more of a mystery. The Holland was excellent. Nice lobby, bar and common areas, including an outdoor courtyard which, unfortunately, was in use by some event called "Aggie Muster" that was explained to us but which we still don't quite get.
Anyway, the king room was spacious, nicely furnished, quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and clean. Maybe we just got lucky and avoided the mildew room and flyaway shower curtain calamity. And the granola was crunchy enough, and besides, who wants to risk cracking their molars on granola?
It's always a little ominous when earplugs are provided, and we did hear one passing train. But it was early in the morning and wasn't enough to ruin the night's sleep.
Overall, I rate this place highly and cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Alpine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

I am so happy to hear that you decided to give us a try! Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your visit to our property! Your kind words are very appreciative! We are looking forward to your next stay!!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews