We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time in Alpine!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Magnolia, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great time in Alpine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just returned from the area. Stayed one day in Marfa, then the next in Alpine!
Everything was within walking distance of this quaint little hotel, super value and be sure to eat at the Century Bar and Grill. The food is excellent and the service is great as wel.

We will be back to Alpine and the Holland Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I am so happy to hear what a great time y'all had with us! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay! We love our guest feedback and always look for ways to make sure each stay is better than the last. Please let us know when you will be returning to Alpine!!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    105
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
85
206
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryneal,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were impressed from the moment we entered the lobby and noticed the beautiful "elegance" of the rustic decor. The staff was warm and friendly and presented us with two welcoming drink tickets for the Century Bar and Grill. Our room was not only comfortable but just as beautiful as the pictures in their brochure. As we were getting situated in our room we could hear music and decided to check it out. Sure enough they had live music coming from the courtyard...great place to enjoy our drinks. We had a very enjoyable evening and then were treated to a fantastic breakfast the next morning. Located in the heart of Alpine, we were just a short walk from several great little shops down the street. We highly recommend the Holland Hotel to anyone looking for a charming place to stay in the Big Bend region.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davlin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
What a wonderful review! We may have to use this on our website! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay! Special thanks for your lovely comments on our staff and The Century Bar and Grill. They appreciate it very much! Please let us know when you will be returning to Alpine!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time at The Holland Hotel. Got a "Groupon" discount to stay there with some friends. The hotel has nice character and ambiance. The rooms were adequate, food at the restaurant was wonderful and a great value. Breakfast was hot and simple (eggs, sausage, potato, bread, coffee, juice, yogurt & cereal. Fridge and microwave in the room and they provide ear plugs... yes ear plugs! Ok, the TRAIN... Across the street, there is a train station - a VERY BUSY train station. Trains blow their whistle when coming into the station at all hours of the night and thus the need for the ear plugs. We had a room facing the station and even the ear plugs didn't completely drown out the horn at 2 am! Our friends stayed in rooms facing the north side (opposite facing room) of the hotel and said they did not hear the train horn! Here is the important thing... We WOULD STAY AGAIN. Insist on a room on the opposite side of the train station and you should be ok. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Request a room on the North side of the property facing OPPOSITE of the Train Station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasFamilyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are so happy to hear what a great time you had with us! I am also delighted that you and your friends were able to take advantage of our Groupon Promotion! And yes you are correct, we are right across from a very busy train station! We think our trains our quaint, but the City of Alpine and Union Pacific are working on a "silent zone" so hopefully that will pass through soon! We are looking forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwestern US
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

After reading some earlier reviews, our expectations for the Holland were not that high. We were trying to figure out what could be the reason why a king room in a historic building would be less than a similar room in a Hampton Inn or a Holiday Inn Express in the same town. After spending a night at The Holland, the price disparity is even more of a mystery. The Holland was excellent. Nice lobby, bar and common areas, including an outdoor courtyard which, unfortunately, was in use by some event called "Aggie Muster" that was explained to us but which we still don't quite get.
Anyway, the king room was spacious, nicely furnished, quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and clean. Maybe we just got lucky and avoided the mildew room and flyaway shower curtain calamity. And the granola was crunchy enough, and besides, who wants to risk cracking their molars on granola?
It's always a little ominous when earplugs are provided, and we did hear one passing train. But it was early in the morning and wasn't enough to ruin the night's sleep.
Overall, I rate this place highly and cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Alpine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you decided to give us a try! Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your visit to our property! Your kind words are very appreciative! We are looking forward to your next stay!!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Pretty much the only "higher class" hotel to stay at in Alpine. There are other hotels of the same ilk in neighboring towns. But for a great stay relatively close to Big Bend National Park, this is the place. The king suite we have was comfortable, but not a huge amount of room around the bed to walk. Great amenities in the bathroom. Free water, tea, lemonade, at the front desk is a nice touch. Also game room with a free pool table and board games. Lobby is spacious and has great features. Some nights have live music in the lobby. Small restaurant is in the hotel/bar area. Reservations suggested.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dadada234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to our property! We value our guest feedback and encourage it in order to improve our services for your next visit! Thanks again for your lovely review!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We came to Alpine to visit a friend that lived there, so we already knew that we wanted to try one night at the Holland Hotel during our visit. My husband and I try to only stay in smaller boutique hotels when we go on trips and I would stay one fared pretty high on our list.

As one of the other below reviews mentions, the free drink tickets were a nice surprise at check in and the staff was helpful and professional, each time we dealt with them. Kevin was the one I spoke with on the phone a few times. One criticism would be that a return phone call to my voicemail would have been nice when I was making a reservation- I ended up making it online and they may have realized that my name on the online reservation matched the one on the message.

We originally had a reservation made for Loft #4, but we changed it to a King hotel room that became available. I am glad that we did, after reading the below review of loft #4.

On the night that we stayed, there was a Quicenera that was taking place in the hotel ballroom/lobby, so we did not have the opportunity to enjoy much of the common space downstairs. However, we did have drinks at the Century Bar & Grill (located downstair in the hotel) prior to the start of the event. The drinks were nicely made, but the only food we had was the "homemade" chips and salsa. The chips were cold and stale and the salsa cold.....didn't really entice us to have dinner there, so we left and ate at a nearby resturant called the Reata. The food at the Reata was excellent!

The King room that we stayed in was overall pretty nice. Very Clean, except for the bathtub which looked like it may need refinishing. There was adequate space for an older hotel and the wood furnishings were very nice. There were 2 free water bottles available, in-room coffee and earplugs (for the passing train, which didn't bother us at all). Not sure how often the nice, white down comforter at the foot of the bed is washed- but, it could use a cleaning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhVanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding our property during your recent stay. I realize that we fell short of your expectations. We will certainly work on the points that you have raised to ensure we are able to deliver an exemplary hotel stay experience. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. We are looking forward to hosting you in the future and we will definitely strive to exceed your expectations on your next visit!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Could not have been better. The staff was fantastic, and helped us plan our road trip to Big Bend and other sites. Room was wonderful. Enjoyed The Century Grill. Loved the time we sent sitting in their beautiful courtyard visiting with other guest and staff We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind and lovely compliments! We are so happy to hear about your stay. Thank you so much for your comments on our staff, we really appreciate it! Please let us know when you will be returning!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
2.2 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Property: Holland Hotel
Address: 209 W Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-4634
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing