We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel - would stay again”
Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Berkshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel - would stay again”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for a night after driving from Austin, en route to Big Bend National Park.
The hotel is beautiful, with a stunning, beamed ceiling lobby and dining hall. The room was spotless and spacious, with a super comfy bed. Finding it was easy as it's on the main route through town, with parking outside.
When we were there it was very off season, which may be why not many of the local restaurants and bars weren't open. We found a really nice one a few blocks away though which we could walk to (I can't remember the name!). I would say there isn't much to do at night in town but that may just have been due to it being off season.
In the morning we were the only guests, and when we went down to breakfast there wasn't much laid out. The super helpful staff came straight out, apologised for the lack of choice but explained that they weren't sure anyone would be coming for breakfast, so didn't want to waste the food. They offered to make us whatever we wanted, and we ate in the awesome dining room, which we had totally to ourselves!
I would stay here again in a second. The building itself is stunning and the rooms are great. Big Bend (which was about a few hours drive away) was also amazing and well worth a visit. The drive from Alpine is great too, with lots of photo opps.

Room Tip: The railway is very close but it didn't cause us any problems, maybe a very light sleeper would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireMash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
First and foremost I am so happy to hear what a wonderful time you had with us! Our goal is to make a happy experience for every guest who comes through our door. We are looking forward to your next visit. We are very excited about you trying our new restaurant and bar, The Century Bar and Grill. Also thank you for taking the time to write a Tripvisor review! Please let us know when you will be visiting again!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    116
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
98
230
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed January 2013.
Traveled with another couple and booked this hotel. What a wonderful surprise. Excellent hotel and staff. Our room was lovely, decorated with a modern western flair in keeping with it's old west styling. The hotel had just started their restaurant a couple months before, and all our meals were excellent. Great bar area attached to the restaurant. A breakfast buffet was included in our room rate.
Our only wish was that after a long day's travel (8 hours on the road), we could have had a late afternoon adult beverage, relaxed in their attractive lobby or sit outdoors, but they don't open their bar until 5:00 pm! We did find a good place down the street that opened at 4:00 though.
Do stay a few nights. You shouldn't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The train tracks are across the street from the hotel so you will hear the train as it goes through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank botanicalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I am so delighted to hear what a wonderful stay y'all had with your friends! Thank you for taking a time out to write a review on your stay, it truly helps us out so much for making each stay better than the last! We will definitely open the bar up next time for your mid afternoon relaxing! Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely compliments.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just got back from an AMAZING weekend in Alpine, Texas. We purchased a Groupon for the Holland Hotel to get away for a long birthday weekend, was I completely surprised and impressed upon entering the hotel. This hotel was not only immaculate, but the staff was very friendly and what about the old world charm of the hotel..one word SPECTACULAR! The newly renovated bar is such an asset to this hotel and we ended up chatting with many of the locals who love this hotel as we did and P.S. your first drink is complimentary if you are staying at the hotel. I must also mention the free breakfast was delicious and the homemade hot sauce DIVINE!

We are already planning our next trip! I highly recommend if you haven't been to Alpine, make it a stop and enjoy the hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I am so happy to hear what a great Birthday weekend you had! Happy Happy Birthday! Thank you for your kinds words on our behalf and thank you for taking advantage of our groupon getaway promotion! Look for another groupon in the future! Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We recently hosted a party for our daughter at the Holland to celebrate her birthday. The food, the staff and the suite was all supurb! The rooms have all been upgraded and the hotel restaurant is a great place for drinks and of course for dining. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasRedLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
First and foremost, we hope that the birthday party was very special for your daughter and we had a wonderful time hosting y'all. Thank you so much for writing a review on your event. We hope to work with you again in the future! Thank you so much for your kind and lovely compliments on our room accommodations!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here twice, for a total of three nights in Dec 2012/Jan 2013. The first night was in December, in the penthouse on the 4th floor. Great views from the room and adjacent rooftop deck/hot tub. The only drawbacks to the penthouse are the doors and stairs you have to tackle enroute to the penthouse. Not good when you have a heavy suitcase. Otherwise, it's a great room.
We came back through town in January and and stayed for two nights - hoping for snow. We got around 3 inches of it and got snowed in for a day or so. The first night, we enjoyed the spectacular courtyard covered in snow.
The breakfast buffet is generally good - it's free and has a nice variety of items. The downside is if there are a lot of unsupervised kids it's unappetizing after they've gone through the buffet line and have touched more items than they put on their plate.
The hotel has been restored very nicely and the staff are very accommodating. The two rooms we stayed in were decorated beautifully and very comfortable. The pool table downstairs was great fun. The lounge area with the fireplace was something you usually see in travel magazines but rarely get a chance to actually visit and enjoy. We'll be stopping by here next time we're headed to Big Bend.

Room Tip: The rooms on the side away from Holland Avenue might be a little quieter - although we got used to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I am so happy to hear what a great time you had with us and West Texas recently. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stays with us! We encourage reviews just to make sure your next stay is better than the last. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the penthouse, it is a very special, private suite. Next time you stay with us we will definitely help you with your luggage! We are looking forward to your next visit with us! Please let me know when you will be in the area again!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed in one of the Lofts out back of this Fantastic Hotel over the Thanksgiving Holiday, our room was great, with a Living Room, a Full Kitchen, and an awesome Jacuzi Tub in the Bedroom. We really enjoyed our excellent 3 Course Thanksgiving Feast at the Cenury Restaurant located in the main Hotel and also a few Adult Beverages in their "Old West" style Saloon. This is definently a place we can't wait to get back to, in fact we are planning our next trip to the Historic Holland in the near future. Oh yeah, I can't forget to mention the folks at The Holland who made our stay so memorable, everyone treated us like royality, if your in West Texas or The Big Bend Area or you just want to step back in time and relax where you can enjoy some "Real Texas Hospitality" don't miss this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KARO48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay. I am so happy to hear what a great time you had with us! Thank your for sharing your lovely thoughts and compliments! We are looking forward to seeing you again

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I will admit, when I first arrived to the hotel I was worried. The outside did not look great and parking was kind of alley-type, but everything changed once I walked through the doors. The hotel lobby was beautiful and very inviting. Once I got to my room I found furnishings that I would absolutely love to have in my house! Now if they would change from the old style carpet to either wood floors or tile it would be absolutely perfect. The hotel restaurant was a little expensive, but food was delicous and hey for the first drink being free I absolutley did not mind.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Monica! Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review! You are absolutely right. Appearances may be deceiving! I am so happy to hear how great your first visit with us was. Our hotel has gone through many changes in this last year. We have updated all our rooms, our lobby and common areas as well as adding The Century Bar & Grill. We are continuing with our updates including a brand new parking lot and new carpeting for all our guest rooms and hallways. We are very excited about your return to see all our newest updates! Chef Alex is also delighted to hear how delicious you thought his food was! As local and exclusive as we are in far West Texas we do our best to price things fairly, these prices reflect quality and current market and gas prices. We apologize about the pricing but delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal. Please let us know the next time you will be visiting so we can save a room for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
388 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
534 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
326 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
57 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Property: Holland Hotel
Address: 209 W Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-4634
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing