We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowed in”
Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This past weekend we took our family of 5 to Alpine, TX. Halfway there we stopped at Sonora Caverns (the kids LOVED it). We arrived in the late afternoon and were pleasantly greeted by the Staff at The Holland Hotel. We got a corner room and it had 1 king bed a huge sitting area and an additional room with 2 queen beds. It was well taken care of and very comfortable. The beds were very comfortable. It snowed all through the night and we were pleasantly graced with 6+inches of snow! This is very usual for this area. The following day the roads were closed off and we spent the day in the lobby building a puzzle, kids played in the courtyard in the snow while we adults stayed in the lobby building a puzzle. Everyone was extremely nice and it felt like it's own little community. We ate at the hotel restaurant and the food was very good. The following evening we picked up pizza locally brought it back to the hotel and watched a movie in the pool table area. Over all a very nice place. Would definitely recommend it if you are in the Alpine area or planning a visit to Ft. Davis Observatory.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katpanico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Wow sounds like you and your family had a great time! How fun for your kiddos! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value your feedback and encourage it in order to improve our services for your next stay! I am glad to hear that your family was very comfortable in our Two Bedroom Suite. We are one big home and we just strive to make everyone's stay their home away from home! We are looking forward to seeing y'all again!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 520 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lobby, beautiful. Furnishings, charming and historic looking. Room, very large.

Rug, gross. Bathroom, needs work. Beds, pretty hard.

Paying $280 (including tax) to stay in a tiny (charming!) town in the middle of nowhere in Texas was too much. If the hotel had been impeccable the price may have been justified, but it was not.

Earplugs were supplied in the bedrooms with a suggestion from the hotel that we might want to wear them if we don't enjoy the sounds of trains in close proximity in the middle of the night.

I really enjoyed staying in this historic hotel, but I'm sure I would not do it again for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coquiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

my husband and i stayed at the Holland a few days after new year's eve. we're in our 60s, so we've stayed in our share of hotels. this was one of our best experiences. for a very reasonable price, made even more reasonable by an aarp discount we had a very nice room in the hotel proper with king bed, flat screen tv, and wifi that worked very well. there were many lovely amenities in the room. we also each got a free drink at the bar and free hot breakfast buffet. the feeling of the hotel was generous. no sense at all of stinginess. the renovated rooms, hallways, common rooms were very, very aesthetic. alpine, marfa, big bend ARE isolated. you don't go there on your way to somewhere else. to find such nice, reasonable accomodations in such an out of the way place is a gift.
my husband thought the breakfast could have been better, so i mention that, but i thought it was great. very good homemade granola, plus eggs, sausage, etc. their coffee, btw, even in the room was excellent. i would recommend going out of the way for this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely compliments of our hotel! We believe we have something very special to offer our guests and I am so happy to hear that we met your expectations! Thank you for taking the time to write your review! The staff and I are very humbled by your review! Thank you so much and we are looking forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our reservation in L***** was messed up so they booked us into the Holland Hotel in Alpine to at least get us into a room for the night. We drove over 100 miles to Alpine and checked into room 103. This particular room is not part of the hotel property but is in an adjacent building that is owned by others, Holland Hotel just manages it for them. This room was bizarre to say the least. The furnishings looked like garage sale rejects. The walls had been patched and painted over so many times they looked really bad. The bathroom tub surround had metal roofing screws holding it in place (I kid you not). The shower head was about 5 feet above the bath tub bottom and pretty much useless. The room abuts an alleyway and there were all kinds of noises (people and cars) in the alley all during the night. It did have a comfortable bed though. The lobby and restaurant were very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeeperguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Other travelers have done a great job describing the ambiance of the hotel which is very good. Staff are extremely helpful, especially Carla who can give you the lay of the land in and around Big Bend. The Continental Breakfast room also has a pool table and big screen TV, very good for watching weekend ball games. You can grab a beer or drink from the bar across the hall. It is just around the corner from the Riata, a great place to eat for dinner and the Bread and Breakfast which is good for breakfast. Overall it was a good stay but here are our complaints. Carla warned us that the carpet in our room was about to be replaced. It sure needed it. Towels were pretty rough. The sheets on the bed were also pretty scratchy. Good amenities in the bath, though. We'll go back if for no other reason than Carla and the Cowboy Shrine on the patio. It's a nice taste of west Texas.

Room Tip: Ask about the carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMPWyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We value your feedback and look forward to your return! And Carla is so humbled by your lovely compliments. Although we have done many updates throughout the year, we are currently replacing the carpets and will be upgrading our linens also. A couple of things I know you will enjoy on your next visit! See y'all at Cowboy Poetry!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is restored older hotel. They did a very good job. The common areas / lobby feature big western themed furniture that is quite comfy to hang out on and read or just chill out. The fireplace is huge. We went the week before Christmas so the tree was up and quite nice. We stayed in room 209 which features a massive Jacuzzi tub and plenty of hot water to fill it! The bed was large and comfy and the room had wireless and a flatscreen TV. All in all, very nice and I would go back for sure. FYI - there are ear plugs in the room, but I never heard a train. They are about a block and a half from the tracks and an intersection where the trains need to blow the whistle, but as I said, I never heard it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funlonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review! We are thrilled to here that we exceeded your expectations. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our Jacuzzi Suite and all the amenities! And you are right, guests really don't hear the train! We are very excited about your next visit and can't wait to see y'all!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The food here was absolutely incredible. The chef came from the Grape in Dallas and you can definitely tell with his cooking prowess. We had the filet mignon with a blue cheese and poblano cream sauce (which was to die for) and the pecan crusted chicken fried steak with a corn, chorizo and jalapeno gravy...YUM!!!!! The food was simply DIVINE!!! We live in New Braunfels, TX and travel all over and I can say this is definitely one of the BEST restaurants we've eaten at. Even if you're not staying at the hotel...give the restaurant a try. You will NOT be disappointed!!!! Oh, and after dinner there's an outdoor sitting are complete with an outdoor fireplace perfect for a glass of wine and a cigar. Really elegant and historical and western all mixed together with a French flare!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank NBdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments on our restaurant. We definitely believe we have something special to offer our guests and we are so glad you chose us! Chef Alex is thrilled to hear how wonderful your experience was in our restaurant. Thanks again for taking time to write your wonderful review.

Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
423 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
305 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
2.2 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
77 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Address: 209 W Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-4634
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: $145 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing