We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All we expected and more!”
Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is restored older hotel. They did a very good job. The common areas / lobby feature big western themed furniture that is quite comfy to hang out on and read or just chill out. The fireplace is huge. We went the week before Christmas so the tree was up and quite nice. We stayed in room 209 which features a massive Jacuzzi tub and plenty of hot water to fill it! The bed was large and comfy and the room had wireless and a flatscreen TV. All in all, very nice and I would go back for sure. FYI - there are ear plugs in the room, but I never heard a train. They are about a block and a half from the tracks and an intersection where the trains need to blow the whistle, but as I said, I never heard it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funlonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review! We are thrilled to here that we exceeded your expectations. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our Jacuzzi Suite and all the amenities! And you are right, guests really don't hear the train! We are very excited about your next visit and can't wait to see y'all!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 508 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

The food here was absolutely incredible. The chef came from the Grape in Dallas and you can definitely tell with his cooking prowess. We had the filet mignon with a blue cheese and poblano cream sauce (which was to die for) and the pecan crusted chicken fried steak with a corn, chorizo and jalapeno gravy...YUM!!!!! The food was simply DIVINE!!! We live in New Braunfels, TX and travel all over and I can say this is definitely one of the BEST restaurants we've eaten at. Even if you're not staying at the hotel...give the restaurant a try. You will NOT be disappointed!!!! Oh, and after dinner there's an outdoor sitting are complete with an outdoor fireplace perfect for a glass of wine and a cigar. Really elegant and historical and western all mixed together with a French flare!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank NBdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments on our restaurant. We definitely believe we have something special to offer our guests and we are so glad you chose us! Chef Alex is thrilled to hear how wonderful your experience was in our restaurant. Thanks again for taking time to write your wonderful review.

Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We only got to stay one night at the Holland but had an excellent experience. The rooms are a nice size and very nicely decorated and the beds very comfy. We also had dinner at The Century Bar & Grill and it was FABULOUS!! I recommend you try the restaurant even if you aren't staying at the Holland. You will not be disappointed! The courtyard after dinner is an excellent place to sit by the fire and mingle. It was such a great experience. Everyone at the hotel and restaurant were very nice and friendly. We are going back soon for another business trip and will definitely be staying at the Holland!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments on our hotel, restaurant and courtyard. We truly believe we have something special to offer our guests, a truly unique "Alpine" experience. We are looking forward to your next visit! And thank you for taking the time to write a review, we value what our guests have to stay and we strive everyday to make each a guest a loyal guest!

Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have been touring around the Big Bend area and this is one of the best places to stay we have found. The rooms are comfortable and have been remodeled. The food is good and the hospitality is really friendly. They even give you ear plugs in case you don't like the noise from the the ubiquitous train that goes by all the towns in the area. It was a real pleasure to stay here.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

We are so happy to hear what a good time you had with us and in the Big Bend area! We value your feedback and we encourage it just so we can make each stay better than the last. Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely compliments. Please let us know when you will be in Alpine!

Happy Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I love Alpine! Especially this cool hotel! I have stayed here numerous times and it never disappoints me. The Maverick is my backup and love that place too.

The charm of the Holland is very apparent when you walk in. Decor is beautiful and the staff extremely helpful. I am so glad they have their own restaurant now!!!

The room we always stay in is on the second floor with a balcony. Bed is comfy, love the extra room with couch and large table. The balcony has a table with chairs to chill out and watch the day wind down. Yes, there is the train but it doesn't bother me nor wake me.

Several rooms on the first floor to gather with friends and a friendly bar.

All pluses.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTheWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

First and foremost thank you for being such a loyal customer. That means we must be doing something right! Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely and wonderful comments! Without our loyal customers we couldn't strive to make each stay better than the first! Please let us know the next time you will be in town, we will have the Balcony Suite ready for you!

Happy Holidays and thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Had a great time at the Holland whilst visiting Big Bend during July of this year. Hotel had a real frontier feel about it which was great for us Scots coming over to find out what all the fuss was about. Makes a change for us hosting 'Scots' visiting the motherland. Noisy train passing could be a problem for soom people, but for us, it just added authenticity to our stay. Not Holland related but the Italian restaurant at the bottom of the street refused to serve us dinner even though we were 10 mins before their 'cut off' time, although we watched several locals being shown to tables thereafter, not good. Holland Hotel superb, nowhere better to stay in Alpine. Reata restaurant is superb and only 5 mins walk away. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

First and Foremost we are so happy to hear that your visit to the "motherland" went so well. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on the hotel. We appreciate it very much, without it we couldn't strive to make each stay more enjoyable than the last. We can't wait to see y'all again!
You will have to come back to enjoy our newly opened restaurant, The Century Bar & Grill, you will love it! Hope to see you soon

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Kudos to the restoration of an Alpine iconic property. Lovely atmosphere, makes you want
to sit down and just enjoy the moment. Courtyard updates are a great addition. Probably
the coolest bar in Alpine for a quiet, civilized drink.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank agavedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments. We are very blessed to have gone through such a wonderful renovation of this historic hotel. We are looking forward to your return.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
418 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
275 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
564 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Address: 209 W Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-4634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: $157 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing