We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remember....You are in Alpine.”
Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Remember....You are in Alpine.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I've watched this hotel rise from the ashes. It still has a way to go, but the new owners are really putting a lot of effort to make it a top notch place to stay. It is old, it is kinda dark, sometimes the room reservations are mixed up (I didn't get the room I reserved on-line last time), and as of now, there is no restaurant or bar---but the friendly service makes up for any short comings. The rooms vary, but all are very comfortable, very clean, and very reasonable rates It so much more fun to stay in a place with history and a sense of purpose and place. Within walking distance are great places to eat, cute shops, and excellent art galleries. It is right across the street from the historic train depot and you may hear the trains at night, but that doesn't bother me or keep me up. I just love this hotel and the area and the characters that you meet in Alpine.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side are farther away from trains. Walk down to the Bread and Breakfast and go in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophieandmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
First and foremost I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on behalf of your stay at The Holland. You are absolutely right, since our new owners have taken over the hotel's has been brought back to life. Our staff really appreciates your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again! Our bar and restaurant will be open soon. And don't forget about our repeat guest specials!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    116
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
98
230
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A great hotel which had been recently totally refurbished. it has all the character of being an old station-hotel with tiled flooring and fireplaces. The lobby was very impressive. There was a free pool table, free iced tea and coffee all day and free breakfast was a voucher to a cute restaurant round the corner with massive pancakes. The room was a basic twin double, but it was very clean, and great for the price (as we'd pre-booked on lastminute.com). We got a free drink at the hotel bar where the barman made up a cocktail for me on demand. It was also a great location as it was right opposite the station and a short walk away from the Railroad Blues bar. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
First let us thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our staff highly appreciate your valuable comments as they work to make of your stay the best.

Please let us know when the next time you're in Alpine. We will be more than glad to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at the Holland for 2 nights on our trip to West Texas and New Mexico. The hotel was built in the 1930's and recently been restored. We've stayed a lot of "old" hotels and this is one of the best. The rooms are big and the beds are really GOOD! The linens are high thread count and very soft. Bathrooms are small but clean and efficient... It is an old hotel after all. There is an elevator which makes being on the 3rd floor nice. Ask for the "suite" that has a balcony onto the main street (Holland St). Anyway, the staff was very friendly!

The only complaint I had was there is currently no restaurant on site. They are currently building one and it should be ready later this year. We ate at "free" breakfast down the street at a cafe that was pretty good. Eat at Reata if you can...excellent steak. Alpine is a nice place to spend the weekend and just relax or use it as your base for exploring the Big Bend. That's what we did.

I would definitely stay at the Holland Hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments! At the Holland our ultimate goal is to offer our guests the best service. We are currently working on our restaurant and bar, an addition that will help us achieve our goal.

Please let us know the next time you are in Alpine, and we will make sure you stay in our balcony suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Fun place to get away. Glad to see Carla back in the place! I liked the current makeover. This place has been through some changes lately and this is the best. Can't wait for food on site to return!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Threecrosses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your time writing the review! Just like you we can't wait for our restaurant to be open and to offer you the best of our service!

Warm regards from The Holland Hotel in Alpine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

This really is a little gem in the heart of West Texas. Historic, clean, reasonable, friendly, and beautiful views of the mountains. It's also a great little town for a jumping off place to visit the surroundings - Marfa to Ft. Davis. Can't imagine I'd stay anyplace else.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SMG4037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
First of all let me thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for your lovely compliments!
Our guest's opinion is very important to us, it is what keeps us improving to provide you with the best service.

Thanks for choosing The Holland!
Please let us know next time you are in Alpine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We recently were in Alpine and stayed several nights at The Holland. This a beautiful historical hotel in West Texas that you must stay at. The rooms and suites are very well decorated and maintained. The Hotel staff was very friendly and made sure we were always taken care of even when they were off duty. They really made you feel at home and welcomed. Thank you Holland Hotel staff for making our visit very memoriable for our family.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your taking the time to write a review!! Our staff is delighted to help you and we want to thank you for your kind words. Our ultimate goal is to make our guests feel at home in every way possible..

Please let us know next time you're in Alpine, we will be more than glad to have you with us again!

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We got a small suite for a reasonable price. We were there to visit my daughter. The location is quite convenient. Good breakfast, comfortable bed, wonderful service. I left my favorite hooded sweatshirt there and they sent it to me in Washington within a week. I'd advise booking through the hotel.
Thanks for a wonderful stay! We will be back next time we come to Alpine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you Rochelle! We deeply appreciate you taking the time to write your valuable review! At the Holland Hotel we try our best to make our guests feel at home, and we will do everything in our hands to make your stay unforgettable.
Please let us know the next time you will be in Alpine, we have a re-peat guest special.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
388 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
534 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
326 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
57 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Property: Holland Hotel
Address: 209 W Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-4634
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing