We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing time in scenic getaway.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing time in scenic getaway.”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Fun place to get away. Glad to see Carla back in the place! I liked the current makeover. This place has been through some changes lately and this is the best. Can't wait for food on site to return!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Threecrosses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your time writing the review! Just like you we can't wait for our restaurant to be open and to offer you the best of our service!

Warm regards from The Holland Hotel in Alpine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    108
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
85
215
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

This really is a little gem in the heart of West Texas. Historic, clean, reasonable, friendly, and beautiful views of the mountains. It's also a great little town for a jumping off place to visit the surroundings - Marfa to Ft. Davis. Can't imagine I'd stay anyplace else.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SMG4037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
First of all let me thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for your lovely compliments!
Our guest's opinion is very important to us, it is what keeps us improving to provide you with the best service.

Thanks for choosing The Holland!
Please let us know next time you are in Alpine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We recently were in Alpine and stayed several nights at The Holland. This a beautiful historical hotel in West Texas that you must stay at. The rooms and suites are very well decorated and maintained. The Hotel staff was very friendly and made sure we were always taken care of even when they were off duty. They really made you feel at home and welcomed. Thank you Holland Hotel staff for making our visit very memoriable for our family.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your taking the time to write a review!! Our staff is delighted to help you and we want to thank you for your kind words. Our ultimate goal is to make our guests feel at home in every way possible..

Please let us know next time you're in Alpine, we will be more than glad to have you with us again!

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We got a small suite for a reasonable price. We were there to visit my daughter. The location is quite convenient. Good breakfast, comfortable bed, wonderful service. I left my favorite hooded sweatshirt there and they sent it to me in Washington within a week. I'd advise booking through the hotel.
Thanks for a wonderful stay! We will be back next time we come to Alpine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you Rochelle! We deeply appreciate you taking the time to write your valuable review! At the Holland Hotel we try our best to make our guests feel at home, and we will do everything in our hands to make your stay unforgettable.
Please let us know the next time you will be in Alpine, we have a re-peat guest special.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I recently stayed at the historic holland hotel in alpine Texas during the month of may. I have to say it was a delight and a pleasure to stay there. It is different from most hotel chains and that is something me and my girlfriend enjoy! The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable on the area and all were just so nice. They kept the feeling of being welcomed every time we saw one of them though our 3 day stay. Even when they were off duty they still acted like a friend wanting to get to know you!!! The rooms are comfortable and well arranged, with the addition of a restraunt bar and brewery coming in the month of July I would highly recommend the holland hotel to all traveling or passing by this great small town!!! When my girlfriend and myself left Sunday morning I knew the town, the staff, and the hotel would be missed!!!!! THANKS HOLLAND HOTEL FOR EVERYTHING YOU HELPED US EXPERIENCE!!!!'

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Michael, thank you so much for your kind words and lovely comments. We do our very best to make our guests feel like they are home. We truely believe that we have a gem hidden in West Texas and everyone needs to experience Alpine Texas and The Holland. We are very excited about our new resturant and bar coming soon! Please let us know the next time you are in Alpine, we will give you a complimentary upgrade to one of our specialty suites! We appreciate very much your review!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Had a wonderful week-end at the Holland, truely enjoyed the stay from the moment we checked in to the minute we had to leave, stay several days and the staff made sure we had everything we needed for a great week-end stay, the rooms were extra clean, and always had plenty of towels, the decor was just wonderful, HIGHLY RECOMMEND the HOLLAND for your next trip to Alpine, Tx or just make the trip to Alpine, Tx for a get away you'll truly be able to relax and enjoy the small town visit

Room Tip: Choose the one with the Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greyhound44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Greetings! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We value our guests, and without our guests imput we would not know how to improve with every guest, and every stay. The housekeepers also appreciate your lovely comments on the rooms. The housekeepers do their very best to make sure our guests have everything they need. Please let us know the next time you will be in Alpine, we have great re-peat guest specials and we will make sure the Balcony Suite is available for you!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

i did not stay at The Holland Hotel myself and had set up lodging in El Paso for a couple of young men riding across country from Miami, Florida to Napa California on bicycles for 5 charities. They were not allowed to ride I10 so they had to detour south 67miles out of the way. I cancelled El Paso and booked The Holland Hotel. The boys have posted on ridefor5.org and said the place is amazing. It is so wonderful that they have restored this hotel, it is such a nice change from the same old same old. The detour certainly was worth experiencing The Holland Hotel. Thanks Kevin, he had sodas waiting for them when they arrived. Can't beat that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquelineStreet_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Jacqueline, thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review. We were very happy to learn, that by chance, these wonderful young men who are riding for two wonderful causes, were able to stay with us because they were not allowed to ride on I-10. It worked out perfect! Kevin is delighted and thanks your for your lovely compliment!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
366 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
511 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
318 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
2.2 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Property: Holland Hotel
Address: 209 W Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-4634
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing