We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”

Alicia's Burrito Place
Ranked #8 of 41 Restaurants in Alpine
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Alpine, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Food!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is the best food in the area! Always good food and with new extended hours, cant eat there almost every night of the week

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler30158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    34
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamlin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Poor Service.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

At Alicias, I love their Hamburger and French Fries. The food is always good and hot. The service is usually a touch slow, especially for Alpine, but not uncommon for other west Texas towns.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

It's amazing, but if you're a gringo or from out of town, you may want to be EXTREMELY polite. they may upcharge you for rudeness.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AkaNeko1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luling, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Long wait!!!!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very, Very slow service and food overcooked. Supposedly had new cook, however, over an hour waiting on a breakfast burrito is a bit much. Seemed like the burrito had been cooking for the entire hour. They were very nice and polite and very apologetic about the wait, but the food was not worth the wait. Sorry I hate to give bad reviews, but I feel this is necessary. Might give it another try but will ask about the wait and also if they are training a new cook.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A clean well lighted place, NOT!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Alicia's is the alternative TexMex place in Alpine to La Casita. It is a dump, run down, fly infested, dark, tacky dining room, old house all junked up. But, for some reason it is popular with the locals, primarily Hispanic, and the food is a bit more authentic tasting than at La C.It is not a place for the fastidious nor picky. I ate there twice, the first time eating a hamburger type thing wrapped up in a flour tortilla with refried beans, lettuce and tomatoes and green chilli salsa. It was good in a trailer trash sort of way. All the time, the waitress was swatting flies all around me. The food coming out of the kitchen looked so good, in that sloppy TM way, that I went back, flies notwithstanding.

The menu is sort of odd. They don't have dishes like the Sombrero plate, the Michoacan plate, etc but have a plate on enchiladas, tacos, etc, all served with beans and rice. I got the crispy tacos with ground meat topped with lettuce and tomatoes. They were good, especially with a little of the green salsa which was moderately hot. Sadly, the refritos were way over salted, and the rice was like I got at Magoo's, i.e., cooked till it was slightly mushy. Maybe that is the way they do rice out there. Basically I enjoyed my meal, especially the tacos. But other factors notwithstanding I cannon give it overall more than two stars. There are lots of folks that would just blanch walking into this place. Also, it is byob.

Bty, I do not recall seeing stacked enchiladas on the menu.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alicia's Burrito Place also viewed

 

Been to Alicia's Burrito Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing