We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the biscuits and gravy”
Review of Penny's Diner

Penny's Diner
Ranked #17 of 41 Restaurants in Alpine
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed the biscuits and gravy”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

We ate breakfast here twice while staying at the Oak Tree Inn this weekend. It was busy both days but food came out in a reasonable amount of time and was tasty. The biscuits reminded me of my grandfather's home made biscuits he fixed when I was little. Stephanie, our waitress was helpful and friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    59
    54
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service - Poor practices”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Have eaten here at least 2 or 3 times each of the last 3 trips to Alpine. Never again! Service has only been marginal most trips. For serving sizes, prices are high. But this trip!!!! - got in just before a 35+ kids baseball team came in. Turned in our order prior to their orders being placed. Got our drinks, a salad, crackers & butter. And never received the rest of our order! Kids started getting their food. Checked out grill and our food was not even being cooked. Got up to pay for what we had received - the only good thing out of this trip........they didn't charge us for what little they had served. On the door as we left, they had placed a sign "Temporarily closed". Why didn't they just tell us they didn't want to serve us and we wouldn't have wasted our time sitting there waiting on food that wasn't coming!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rbell42919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
189 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“24 hour diner.”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Service was good, and very friendly. The food was good but I must say it is a bit off balance with the amount of food you get for the price. I ordered a grilled chicken salad, and there was not even the full breast of chicken included. It was a small handful of diced bits. It was good, though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewMexicoScraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love that place”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Fresh staff, they was a little tired at the end of the day (we arrived late, after a long day on the road) but still got a great service, and the chefs could make some good food.
Like being back in the 70's.
And they were really helpful.
Would recommend the place to everybody, who would listen to me ;-)

Was also there the next day to breakfast, a deal with the motel next door.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced diner.”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The best thing about Penneys was the wait staff. The food was marginal. I had a chocolate malted that was good. Hamburger and fries only ok. Prices were very high.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BAinCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Penny's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing