We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Microwave food at best”
Review of Penny's Diner

Penny's Diner
Ranked #17 of 41 Restaurants in Alpine
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Austin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Microwave food at best”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We ate at Penny's for dinner our last night in Alpine. It's a very small train car looking restaurant. The service was terrible. There was only one server and he thought phone calls were more important that taking drink orders. The food was way over priced. It was microwave food at best. I could have had the same chicken tenders and chicken fried steak for less money at the Dairy Queen down the street. I would not eat here again. No kids menu either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ktykatkty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    59
    54
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We had breakfast here and were amazed at the quick service. Their rates are very low and have a variety to offer on the Menu. The exterior of the diner give it a metallic boogie feel ....very chick and classy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snehal_tatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainview, tx
Level Contributor
117 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good old fashion breakfast”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

retro style diner. staff was great, very friendly. our waitress (samantha) will keep you laughing. i had a HUGE 3 egg omlette and wife had pancakes. both were very good. all that is missing is a juke box where you could select the songs at your table. would definitely recommend for breakfast at least

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
347 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Diner Fare, for sure”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

For the RVer or trucker, a great place to stop as there is a wide paved berm along the highway. Don't even think of turning into MacDonalds if you have a big rig.

Penny's in Alpine, TX, is exactly what one would expect. Bar stools right across from the grill, very cozy booths. and lots of chrome. An marginally upscale Waffle House!

We found this Penny's very clean and the food above average. the staff was very attentive and quite friendly. We wold definitely stop again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXRVer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanderson, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“24 hours”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a good place to go for breakfast but the menu choices are slim for the diet concious and healthy eaters. Great thing is that it is open 24 hours and has a cute old time diner atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kiki300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Penny's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing