We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great crusted trout!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Trattoria - CLOSED

La Trattoria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
west texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great crusted trout!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We try to eat here several times a month. The food is always fresh and made from scratch. Pizza is great also. The service is good as their food. The stir-fried salad is great for vegetarians. They even serve Big Bend Brewing Beer on tap. Nice selections of wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bucksmom_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    64
    22
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a charming Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

In not a big fan of Italian simply because I'm gluten free; however, this restaurant in the quaint mountain town of Alpine, TX is the exception. The Parmesan encrusted trout is to die for. I've had all but one of their salads and with chicken or shrimp added, I can't eat the large size. My favorite is the Ensalada Mista with delicious Marfa tomatoes,
Black olives & artichoke hearts. They have tapas dishes -- and the most guilty pleasure I enjoy is the tapas portabella mushroom ravioli with tomato cream sauce and a small La Trot salad. They have fabulous spaghetti and meatballs--and if you call ahead, the chef will prepare GF pasta! The pizzas smell heavenly and I understand they have a good wine and beer
list. You don't have to dress up.
Tourists show up in their shorts, T shirts and hiking shoes. If you visit, ask for Marion because she is the BEST server I've ever had, tell her Lisa sent you! ( I've lived in cities for 43 years and dined at many 5 star restaurants. )

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaAinsleyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute place, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

What a cute little surprise. Good food with an adorable atmosphere. A little pricey and the "creamy bolognese" wasn't what I would consider bolognese, but tasty all the same.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle1631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The margarita w added anchovies was delicious. Great service. Very surprised considering this is West Texas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Good West Texas Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Liked the facility and the food. Had sausage ravioli in a spicy, unusual and delicious sauce. My friend and a very good Chicken Parmesan, again with a little different pasta sauce. Prices very reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trattoria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing