We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised Us~!”
Review of Guzzi Up

Guzzi Up
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Surprised Us~!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very well prepared gourmet pizzas as well as salads and other delights. Our waiter, Brandon, was a refreshing stand out with fun and interesting banter along with super service. What a find~! Just cross the street from the Holland Hotel and there you are ~!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Art_L0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    105
    31
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect end to the day”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

After spending the day at monahans sand dune and Balmorhea springs we were starved. Food was great and reasonably priced. Gourmet pizzas and sandwiches hit the spot. Great local beer by Big Bend Brewery

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmieCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were staying across the street and decided to give this new place a try. Business was slow with only one other table occupied when we arrived. Wait staff, while friendly and attentive, came across as immature and insecure. We ordered a cheese pizza with sausage and green pepper. The pizza reminded me of a Tombstone frozen pizza with a very sparse amount of green pepper and sausage tossed on top. Very bland. We also had side salads which were fresh and generous but were served at room temperature. They would have been very good if served chilled. We were also given complimentary bread prior to our meal which appeared to be homemade but, again, just not very flavorful. The interior is a bit modern but appears to be trying too hard to be different. The music videos on the above-bar TV ranged from techno to country.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jafenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad pizza, bad ambiance.”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We didn't choose one of their "gourmet" pizzas, but ordered a cheese pizza with sausage and green pepper. The toppings were very sparse and the whole pizza reminded me of a Tombstone pizza with a very few toppings tossed on. The salad would have been really good (and fresh) if it had been at a chilled temperature rather than room temp. The complimentary bread was "different" but not necessarily tasty. The TV was looping music video that ranged from techno to country and the interior was trying too hard to be trendy. The wait staff did their best to be helpful and friendly but came across as awkward and immature.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jafenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good Pizza”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Food and drinks were very good. The pizza was excellent. Waiter had very little knowledge of menu items of drinks offered but was very prompt with our orders and attentative to our needs.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank nurseGrapevine_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guzzi Up also viewed

 

Been to Guzzi Up? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing