We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Average; Opportunities for Improvement”
Review of Reata Restaurant

Reata Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Reata Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $40
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The original Reata Restaurant located in the scenic Davis Mountains of west Texas offers the same fine dining and Legendary Texas Cuisine you can find at the Fort Worth location. Alpine, home to Sul Ross State University is near Texas tourist destination Big Bend National Park and the towns of Marathon, Fort Davis and Lajitas. Alpine is also a short drive from Marfa, Texas renowned both for the mysterious Marfa Lights and Donald Judd’s Chinati Foundation. Reata, named after the legendary ranch in the James Dean classic movie, “Giant”, which was filmed in nearby Marfa, boasts the same high quality Southwestern dining you can find in Fort Worth. This is not food for the faint of heart, from Chicken Fried Steak to Calf Fries or the Pepper Crusted Tenderloin and Cowboy Rib Eye Steak, this is a dining experience not to miss. Today, Reata Alpine remains a true destination restaurant, attracting loyal diners from miles beyond the charming converted farmhouse where our Legendary Texas Cuisine was born.
Lafayette, California, United States
Level Contributor
231 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Better Than Average; Opportunities for Improvement”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Let's be clear: My ribeye steak at Reata restaurant was fantastic. And, since the ribeye was the main course, feel free to look no further when searching for dinner in Alpine, Texas. That said, there are some clear opportunities for improvement. The biscuits and muffins were cold and hard when they should have been warm and soft. The broccoli was a little cold, a little undercooked, and a little under seasoned. And the service was a little slow. The jalapeno cheese grits, on the other hand, were very tasty and worth ordering.

Reata is a nice surprise -- a very good restaurant in a pretty remote part of the country -- but it has the potential to be even better than that.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Pelicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    158
    72
    28
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Joshua, Texas
Level Contributor
167 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“As good as Fort Worth”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was my second time to eat at Reata, the first being in Fort Worth and the second in Alpine. This Reata is not located in a fancy building like in FW, in fact it's a old house with a bad foundation, but hey, this is Texas and that's the norm. However, the food is just as good as it's Big City Sister. The meat is tender and well seasoned as always, and there is a Mexican flare to the dishes, that even though you stick your pinky out to hold the fork, your taste buds yell, "Ole!"

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rina_Ramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful dinner”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed this place. The decor is just perfect for Alpine. It has a slightly rustic, but homey feel. The food and service are great. The salad with green apples and spicy sweet roasted pecans was wonderful. Great steaks and delicious desserts followed. Service was friendly and helpful. I wish we didn't live so far from Alpine, I will miss this restaurant - a lot!

Helpful?
Thank Rgatkhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainview, tx
Level Contributor
117 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“a hidden treasure in the middle of no where”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

we just stumbled across this place. the day before we went we just driving around alpine and happened to notice people going into this old house on one of the side streets downtown. we decided we might try it the next night. i am sooooo glad we did because inside the door of that old house is this fantastic steakhouse. great staff. we didn't have reservations, because we never thought we would need any in Alpine but the staff was great and gave us a little table in the bar, and what a great bar. the bartendress was a hoot. we had the bacon wrapped shrimp for appetizer and it was off the charts. wife had chile relanos. they were unlike any we've had before, wife gave me a bite and i thought i had died and gone to heaven. i had a new york strip that was on special with a blue cheese and bacon topping that just may be THE BEST STEAK THAT I HAVE EVER EATEN. i order med-rare so it usually will come way more rare than medium and this steak i could cut WITH MY FORK. unbelievably good. i cannot say enough good things about this place. if you're even remotely close to Alpine do your self a favor and check this place out. bread pudding was very different and definitely worth the indulgence . my highest recommendation

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here while passing thru Alpine based on reviews and Reata fully lived up to its high ratings. Our entrees were fresh, creative, and tasty, and the service was attentive and friendly. The classy western decor added to the experience. Overall, a very good meal, definitely worth a visit if you are anywhere near Alpine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reata Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Reata Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing