We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, but not quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New, but not quiet”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a new hotel. Friendly staff, immaculately clean. However, I think the contractors skimped on the insulation - you can hear every whisper, snore, televisions (even at low volume) phone conversation at 2 am, and embarrassingly more. I didn't sleep well because I could actually hear my neighbor tossing and turning in bed. Very uncomfortable, and made me feel like I had to tip toe around when I had to rise early - I could hear him snoring and I didn't want to wake him up. The beds are new, firm (too firm for me, but probably perfect for most). Nice bathrooms, free breakfast. If you can get a room with no neighbors, it might be ok. Next time, however, I'll go to the Best Western across the street which is older, less expensive, but much more private and comfortable. Sorry HIE - wish I had a better review!

Room Tip: Get a room with no neighbors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notalota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paresh J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We would like to thank you for your review. We were unaware of the noise issues you were having. We apologize for your sleepless night. In the future please let the front desk know about your issues and allow us to find a solution and make your stay a positive experience.
Again, we apoligize for your recent uncomfortable stay with us.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    50
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
58
64
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kilgore, Texas
Level Contributor
277 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

After a long day of sightseeing we arrived at this HI. We had booked it online and were so glad we had. The attendant was very nice and helpful. The room was clean and quite comfortable. The attendant offered meal suggestions that we asked for. Overall a great stay. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunni014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paresh J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We are so happy with your great review. Thank you from our entire team. Making our guests feel at home and comfortable is what we strive for. We hope to see you again real soon
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

All was well with my family and me with the two rooms we rented in Alpine. Rooms typical HIE, clean and comfortable. The late night receptionist was so nice checking us in.

A comfy dining area with all kinds of seating. Thanks, HIE. Nice design.

All the desk personnel was helpful....except one lady who disputed information re our Priority Club points that the others had already conferred. But, we succeeded in getting what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paresh J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are pleased that you felt so comfortable here at the HIE Alpine. We do apoligize for the confusion in regards to your IHG Rewards Club points. We were in a transition while intigrating a new rewards program and there has been a little confusion. I hope that you got the correct information and that you will come back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Visited this area for work, the Holiday inn is a more recent addition to the area and a needed addition!!! Check in was simple and the staff was friendly. I was greeted with a smile and cold water as a rewards member :)
The room was perfect top to bottom. Great beds, towels an amenities. As is the case often, the AC was a little loud and the doors in this hotel are self closing and some of the guests were not remembering there were other guests in the hotel. Seemed I heard a lot of that kind of noise. Not unbearable. The room had a Small refrigerator and microwave. Great TV with lots of channels!!!
The hotel has a little "convenience store" area to get snacks, cold drinks and aspirin and such. That was quiet helpful for me.
There was nice guest laundry.
Parking lot was convenient and well lit.
It is convenient to the college and downtown Alpine.
Next door was a very nice little restaurant that served good food and mixed drinks. Also it's very close to several other eating establishments like DQ and Pizza Hut....and as I said very close to the downtown area with many more choices. Super location though.
Breakfast was good with hot choices and typical cold items. Juices and coffee and cereals...Delicious warm cinnamon rolls!!!
The breakfast area was clean and well designed for traffic flow. People weren't falling all over each other and plenty of places to sit.
No surprises on check out and they made it easy.
Only complaint I have was the view from the room to the south was a little less than perfect...but ..certainly not a deal breaker!!!
Can't wait until my next trip in June!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Susieq1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paresh J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for a fabulous review. As a priority club member we appreciate your loyalty to Holiday Inn Express. We are very proud of our hotel and we strive to make each guest's stay a great experience. We are happy to see that we have been able to provide that experience to you and your family. We hope that you will be a regular here in Alpine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Considering that Alpine is kinda in the middle of nowhere (part of its charm) this hotel was a nice surprise. Nice clean room, excellent internet, quiet and good breakfast. Not bad for $114 per night these days.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paresh J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your great review. Alpine is an out of the way destination. We have wonderful hotels, restaurants and retail shopping. However we are well known as the Hub of the Big Bend National Park and Ft Davis' McDonald Observatory. We are so pleased that you visited our lovely area and like to thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wittmann
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We did not have reservation, but had looked up this hotel before we left home, just in case we decieded to stay in Alpine. We couldn't get our GPS to bring us to the hotel so I called and got great directions and was able to drive right to it. Thanks ladies!
We had a very spacious and clean room with fridge and microwave and coffee maker for a very reaonable price. The staff from the receptionists to the cleaning staff and kitchen were exceptionable. The breakfast was fantastic. My husband is a big breakfast eater, his favorite meal of the day, and he was very happy with the variety of hot foods. There were pancakes, eggs, sausage and biscuits and gravy, not to mention the wide variety of yougart, toast, bagels, cereal, and juice. As you can tell we were impressed. We also liked having snacks and drinks available, complimentary, in the afternoon when we arrived. There is a good restaurant next door for dinner. You will love this place and if we come this way again we would
stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christravels853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paresh J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
What a fabulous review of our hotel and employees. Our breakfast attendant was very happy with your kind words. All our employees strive to make each and every stay memorable and we are please to see that we have done our jobs well. Again, thank you for such a great review and please come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here while i was traveling to big bend national park. The hotel is located conveniently on the main road into town so you can't miss this hotel. I had a room at the end of the hallway on the top floor so i didn't hear a single noise and the room was very big for a non suite. This is by far the quietest hotel i have ever stayed at. The breakfast was better than most hotels free breakfast. Also the room was very clean and don't forget too visit some of the other close towns.

Room Tip: End of the hall rooms have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dylan473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paresh J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Your great review honors us and our beautiful town. Thank you for your kind words about how you found your room to be clean and inviting. Speaking for our entire team we appreciate your review and look forward to the day you will be able to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
326 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
57 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#1 of 13 in Alpine
477 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Address: 2004 E Highway 90, Alpine, TX 79830-5136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing