We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat variety and gift shop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of the Big Bend

Museum of the Big Bend
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Neat variety and gift shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our first stop when we arrived in Alpine didn't disappoint. We really could not hear the videos, as the acoustics were awful with the high ceilings. (Ceilings are beautiful though) We did enjoy the selection of works on loan on Remington's works....definitely a good job of defining and display.

Found a great book on the Birds of Texas in the gift shop. Super stop in Alpine on a lovely old college campus.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Art_L0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    73
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alpine, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great small museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great small museum, and a really good introduction to the area. Excellent historical map collection, and special showings most of the time. Currently a Frederick Remington exhibit is only display with pieces that have not been out of their home base in decades.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VBB2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua, Texas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good spot to learn about Big Bend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Good information about the area. Loved the Remington exhibit that happened to be there when we visited. Provided background on the culture and history of the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Take Time for the Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

While small, the museum is worth the time. The exhibits that explain the evolution of the park helps the visitor understand how this lovely place came into its own. It was a hard life living in SW Texas in the early 1900s. And now, I even had cell service.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So sweet! A hands on charmer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

A great little museum packed with interesting tid-bits. If you have taken the time to come all the way to Alpine, TX, you must stop and spend a few hours at this museum. I learned a ton about the Big Bend area, and there's a lot to learn and appreciate.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank coquiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Big Bend also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the Big Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing