We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky with Room for Improvement”
Review of Antelope Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antelope Lodge
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Our family of four used Alpine as our base for a week long trip that included Big Bend National Park, McDonald Observatory, Marfa lights, and Balmorhea State Park. The location is perfect is you're planning to visit sites outside Big Bend. We picked Antelope Lodge because they offered a suite with a kitchenette at a reasonable price.

The desk staff checked us in quickly and offered restaurant suggestions when asked. We stayed in suite #1. The buildings are arranged in two half-circles around an open courtyard that has several picnic tables, large trees, and a huge grill.

Our suite had two main rooms separated by the bathroom. The bathroom had a pink tile floor while the main rooms had stained concrete floors with no rugs. The parking was right next to our door. However, the stone sidewalk from our car to the door was blocked by an overgrown bush. This meant we had to walk through dirt to get to our door. Maybe that's why our suite's welcome mat was so dirty. Since it was impossible to keep from tracking dirt inside, we wore shoes at all times to avoid the gritty floor.

The living/kitchenette room had a desk, armless chair, sofa sleeper, coffee table, tv, sink, small bar with two bar stools, microwave, two-burner stove, mini-fridge, and cabinets. Kitchen supplies including toasters, plates, flatware, cups, etc. are available from the community kitchen behind the office. You are responsible for washing your own dishes and returning the items at the end of your stay. The mini-fridge worked well and kept our milk cold. If you require an oven or dishwasher, this isn't your place. The couch sagged quite a bit in the middle. The sofa bed felt like you were sleeping on a towel stretched over metal springs. Since there were four of us, It would have been nice to have another chair in the room.

The bedroom had two double beds, an arm chair, open hutch, small closet, two small tables, and another tv. The beds were reasonably comfortable. We brought our own pillows. If you bring your own hangers, you can use the small closet. There were a few 'hotel' hangers over one of the small tables.

The bathroom had a small-seated toilet behind its own door. The sink and shower fixtures were old, but worked fine. Hot water was in abundance. They replaced the light fixture over the sink one day while we were out. The old one was shorting out and lacked a switch. The handy man left the sink and floor quite dirty. When we asked for a mop to clean up after him, the staff responded quickly and cleaned the floor.

One of the owners, Terri, leads rock hunts. We took a half-day hunt with her. She has an interesting little museum at one end of the office building and certainly knows her rocks.

In general, the suite was clean. However, the mini-blinds were grimy and in disrepair. A freak hail storm flooded our porch and littered it with tree debris. No one swept the porch off for two days. The office is open from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. On our last day, we wanted to leave before 9 a.m. We could get no one to answer the door to room six, the room where you're asked to go for after-hours requests. We noticed a phone number on the office door and called it. The man who answered seemed surprised that we weren't willing to wait until he opened the office and instructed us to leave our key in our room and leave.

While we may stay at the Antelope again, if Alpine ever gets a newer hotel that has kitchen suites, we'll be booking there.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skepticmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 121 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2009

It has been sometime back when I stayed here but John and Terri seemed like family as I had stayed there twice before. We all shared a love of rocks as attested to by the rock and jewelr shop in the office area. I still have pictures of the lodge, John, and Terri's son Travis as he held his dog so I could take it's picture. The cabin was cleaned every day that I stayed there and was quite comfortable. As another reviewer mentioned there was always plenty of ice as I filled my ice chest each morning before leaving to hunt for agates in surrounding areas. The fondest memories I have of the Big Bend area is staying at the Antelope Lodge and the warm friends I found there.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefldean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

This hotel is an old motor lodge. Seems charming until you see the room. It is pretty shabby. For 50 bucks I figured what the heck (I was trying to save money).

I laid in the bed and noticed there were BUGS crawling on me! Talk about a HORRIBLE experience. I called the manager and was put in another room immediately, but the new room had hair in the sheets (probably the cleaning staff). Bottom Line: spend the money and go somewhere brand name!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andycja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

i tried to cancel a reservation here but was told that they require a 48 hour notice and they wouldn't waive the fee, so i stayed there under protest. the rooms are very barebones and simple. the motel brochure makes a big deal about the place being "rustic", which is fine. but the rooms need to be cleaned and painted. ownership would show more concern for guests if they would at least thoroughly clean the rooms, including the microwaves and refridgerators. overall it was an ok place to stay for the price, just as a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We had been to Alpine before and had seen The Anelope Lodge but we had our fifth wheel so we did not need lodging.

This time we decided to leave it at home. I did some research and we did not want to stay in a stuffy hotel room so we decided on this lodge. We arrived on a Sunday (11-30-08) for a seven day stay and were very pleased with the rooms. The people are very friendly and took care of all our needs.

To make a long story short on Thursday night I became ill and after a trip to the hospital we had to leave on Friday morning to head back home. When we checked with the office and explained our situation we were given a credit for the remaining two days we did not get to stay. VERY NICE PEOPLE!!!!

We will be back. Thanks Very Much!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VERY-PLEASED-VISITOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We stayed here during a family trip this winter while visiting Big Bend, McDonald Observatory & Fort Davis. The hotel was much better than I was expecting.

The place is obviously older & a little "cheap" but it looked like there were some improvements being made. The best thing was how clean the rooms were. Although it was old, it looked like the owners took pride in their place. For the price, we were very pleased.

If you don't have much money, want a great location (not far from day trips to Big Bend, McDonald Observatory & Fort Davis) & a place that you can feel clean in, the Antelope Lodge is a good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cciesielka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Enchanting......some might say! Great place to stay and the staff were unbelievably helpful! I arrived with a flat tyre on the Saturday afternoon and the owner spent all day trying different places in town to get it fixed and even tried Sunday when everything was closed! Located out of the main town on the highway 90, it is about 2 hours drive from Big Bend National Park and is set out in lovely little cottages, giving a really friendly, warm experience. Everything worked and if you're not stupid and ask at the desk, all the amenities i.e. pots/pans/utencils are all available!

Being a Geologist as well, the rock shop was a brilliant little adition to the reception as is all the jewellry for sale! Some hand made silver and turqouise-stone earings made an excellent gift for my girlfriend!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zappomusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alpine hotels
2.2 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
419 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
73 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
335 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antelope Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antelope Lodge

Address: 2310 W Highway 90, Alpine, TX 79830-4106
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: $45 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Antelope Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antelope Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antelope Hotel Alpine
Antelope Motel Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing