We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Antelope Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antelope Lodge
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Tyler, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

If you've ever wanted to step back in time and experience the traveling life as it was back in the 40's and 50's, then the Antelope lodge is the place to stay. It is located on the west side of town in a quiet area off Hwy 90. The rooms are not luxurious in the Holiday Inn style, but they will meet your needs and are kept very clean by the courteous staff. Unlike the modern motels, the prices are not sky high, leaving you with more money to spend on the other adventures awaiting you in Alpine. You will enjoy meeting the owners and if an outdoor adventure looking for the beautiful agates that west Texas is famous for is your style, then they will gladly take you out on a field trip to find them. They also have a museum at the lodge where you can see the different rocks found in the area, as well as an excellent slide show of the local scenery and agates.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    17
    8
    12
See reviews for
25
40
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Antelope Lodge is a rockhound's Mecca. It has a museum full of the local agates and other collectibles in rough, polished and slide show form, while guided trips to gather more start right at the Lodge's door. On Sunday nights after the guided trips, there's free barbeque for the weary rockhounds. I always try to stay two or more times a year.

Room Tip: Get one of the suites for a little more and have plenty of room to store your rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Antelope Lodge in Alpine, TX is a 1950's Motor Lodge, which has been well maintained. There are a series of small cabins, each of which are nicely furnished with everything you need. The staff is friendly and responsive to any needs, and will gladly supply whatever you need to make your stay comfortable.

This is not fancy, glitzy or ultra-modern - but is a clean, comfortable and welcoming escape from the rush of the modern world.

Room Tip: No pool - check with Teri (the owner - yes, she is available through the office) about places to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
round rock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Prices are right! The rooms are older, but well maintained. Very clean. Great environment- staff very accomodating. Good Wi-fi signal. The gift/rock shop is worth a trip out there if you are in the area. Have stayed here three times and will continue to in the future!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have stayed at the Antelope many times. The motel is very clean and the staff is very friendly. The staff will help with any problem. I had a flat and they got me someone to come to my room and change my tire for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JO Ann Valentin... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a great place to stay - rustic and quiet and so different from the big hotels we all usually stay at. The owners are great people who love the country and enjoy sharing it with guests. I'd go there several times a year if I could!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leesie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Although it has been a while since the last time I lodged at Antelope, I have done so on 2 occasions and must admit it is the coolest place I have ever stayed. The privacy, the seclusion, the lack of noise (no train bothered me), the self-contained amenities, the accessibility of stores, etc, the gorgeous environment, the rustic, historical sense of it- everything about it has enormous appeal. It is like a retreat atmosphere and well worth the price. I can only say, Keep up the good work, guys. (My trips were prior to 2011)

Room Tip: If you are looking for a Holiday Inn, with all the noise and intrusiveness, this is not the place fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gthoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alpine hotels
2.2 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
366 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
438 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
511 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
51 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antelope Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antelope Lodge

Property: Antelope Lodge
Address: 2310 W Highway 90, Alpine, TX 79830-4106
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Antelope Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Antelope Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antelope Hotel Alpine
Antelope Motel Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing