We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Bar-be-que dinner!!!”
Review of Big Ray's BBQ

Big Ray's BBQ
Ranked #39 of 225 Restaurants in Allen
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: This is a great little family owned business in Allen. Very nice owners and besides their great BBQ meats, they have some of the greatest sides and desserts!
Restaurant details
Description: This is a great little family owned business in Allen. Very nice owners and besides their great BBQ meats, they have some of the greatest sides and desserts!
Allen, Texas
1 review
“Perfect Bar-be-que dinner!!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had some of the best pulled pork of my life tonight!! This was a great meal. The brisket was juicy and tender and the selection of sides was great. We also tried some sliced sausage which was just delicious. I will definately being going back again and again!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you want a fancy atmosphere, then go somewhere else. But if want some really great BBQ, then Big Ray's is the place. The brisket is awesome, and the staff is friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCalgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Dallas!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I have driven by this place several times and finally decided to try it. Brisket and turkey was moist and had great flavor! Greens beans and coke slaw were spot on and for dessert bread pudding which was phenomonal! Will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rma1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
191 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just What the Dr. Ordered -- Good Texas BQ”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I lived in Allen 25 years ago. Big Ray's did not exist then. Allen was nothing more than a bedroom community for north Dallas. Big Ray's is good 'ol Texas BBQ -- tasty with ample sides that you dish yourself. I had brisket and pulled port, green beans, cole slaw and a soda. It is not the cheapest food in town but it's probably the best -- $12.50 -- cheap for a business traveler, maybe not for a dad with 4 kids and a spouse. Friendly service. Rustic ambiance. Closes at 8pm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank hayes_jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
394 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is the second time I have met a group of fellow long distance motorcycle riders, DFW Defective Gene Pool, at this restaurant, once in 2012 and again Feb. 23, 2013. We are not the outlaw biker type. We just like to ride long distances and often long distances in a very short time. They handled the group very well. The service was terrific. Did I say the BBQ tasted great. This site was selected because of the large parking area, excellent service, friendly and clean. They have many choices so go there hungry. Remember it is a Texas style BBQ place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank leroys73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Ray's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing