We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come on Rudy's you're better than this!!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rudy's Country Store And Bar-B-Q

Rudy's Country Store And Bar-B-Q
Ranked #5 of 221 Restaurants in Allen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Come on Rudy's you're better than this!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We've probably eaten here 8-10 times since it opened. The first 5 or do it was pretty good. The last few I've thought have been a let down. Last night the cashier guy was kinda paying attention and kinda not. He forgot part of our order and wasn't as attentive as I'd expect. The moist brisket was a drier than usual. The creamed corn and beans were good. I got cobbler for dessert but they have no ice cream, wth!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JCPuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    53
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Brilliant BBQ - Even for Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We visited Rudy's several times while staying in Allen. They open at 6am, serving breakfast burritos until 11am. I wouldn't normally think of a BBQ place for breakfast but it was delicious and a great bargain - $1.99 for a 3 ingredient burrito (usually egg, cheese, and meat of choice). The brisket, turkey, bacon, ham, and sausage were all great on the burrito. Yes, really - the smoked turkey, egg, and cheese burrito is awesome!

Lunch and dinner also have great selections. I'm not sure how many meats they offer - I found my favorites and didn't feel the need to stray from them. The turkey is so good - flavorful and tender. The "wet" brisket (higher fat content) is delicious as well. Cold sides are prepackaged in styrofoam containers in a cooler near the registers. We tried potato salad, 3 bean salad, cole slaw, and chocolate pudding for a dessert option - all were great. You can also get baked potato, creamed corn, and baked beans (not sweet and containing meat) for hot sides at the counter. There is NO fried food so no fries but I didn't miss them a bit.

It's very casual - stand in line to order, pay, and receive food at the register; no plates at all, just wax paper or aluminum foil; paper towel dispensers on the wall; fun bottles pops, and domestic and imported beer as well. VERY friendly service. We will definitely return when we are back in the neighborhood!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chooseyouradventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“best barbq”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

we love the pork ribs, sausages, beans, cream corn, potato salad. yum. i definitely recommend. the cute old school gas station is nice as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pepslittleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Rudy's is a chain with many locations throughout Texas. The turkey, brisket and pork are very good, try the hot sauce. Good for large groups, they have plenty of seating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The gas station / bar-b-que concept is interesting - the food is not. This is just run-of-the-mill bar-b-que, nothing special. There are lots of better choices available in McKinney, Allen, and Plano.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheOwlReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Country Store And Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Country Store And Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing