We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Got what I paid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Inn/Scottish Inn Alice

Kings Inn/Scottish Inn Alice
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Inn/Scottish Inn Alice
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Alice
1 review
“Got what I paid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for a week . I got the weekly rate and it was really affordable . I will stay here if I need to come back to the town. Room service s were awesome , main thing is the breakfast. It was awesome.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EBIN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed there this week while attending a family funeral. It was the cheapest compared to others at $70 and the next available rates were at $130 and up. Hotels are rediculously overpriced in this area. I grew up in this neighborhood and 40-50 years ago this probably was a nice hotel but I don't understand why it hasn't been updated or even torn down to re-build. The industry is good in Alice due to Oil/Frocking Industry. I felt like I had stayed the night in Jail/the slammer/the joint. It was nasty. I know you get what you pay for but even at $55, a shelter might have been cleaner. The artwork was probably 50 years old and faded evenly to a graytone. The bed wasn't even a bed, it was a box spring and mattress on some an unpainted wood frame on the bottom. The pillows were so flat that it didn't even seem like I had a pillow. The A/C filter had so much dust in it and so glad it was cool enough outside that I didn't have to use the A/C. The tub had all kinds of cigarette burns even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking room. The base-boards had so much dirt on it and the walls have probably not been painted in years. Of course the sheetrock is so brittle the walls could likely fall apart at the touch of a paint brush. Come on Scottish Inn, get your act together and update this place while the potential for business is good.
The food buffet was ok. Coffee was good and fresh and the waitress was very nice courteous and in good spirits.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alice hotels

Hondo, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

For a non-smoking room, the bathtub was badly stained with cigarette burns. Eventually got accustomed to the stale odor in the room & heater smells. Floor did not feel clean, but no cockroaches seen. Beds were clean & comfortable. Breakfast buffet was fair; especially the menudo very good. Would have to say was worth the price, but will pay a little more for something nicer next time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HondoJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

After overviewing the the facts. a mix of comfortable beds, clean rooms, 24hours service. and i a nice complamentery hot buffet breakfast i would have to say for the price that i paid it was more than worth it. The helpfull and friendly staff and the new supervisors really make the stay very accomadating. I strongly recommend kings inn\scottish inn as a place to experience. i give it 4 out of 5 stars

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank anselmobenavides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2006

The most disgusting hotel I have ever been to. Rooms were dirty, towels dirty, and plenty of cockroaches. It was just awful. The employees were rude and abnoxious. Needless to say, we left immediately.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice hotels
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Alice
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn - Alice
Hampton Inn - Alice
#1 of 8 in Alice
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alice
0.1 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#8 of 8 in Alice
3.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn/Scottish Inn Alice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn/Scottish Inn Alice

Property: Kings Inn/Scottish Inn Alice
Address: 815 Highway 281 South, Alice, TX 78332
Location: United States > Texas > Alice
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Alice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kings Inn/Scottish Inn Alice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Inn/Scottish Inn Alice Hotel Alice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing