We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed Temporary Lodging”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alamo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamo Inn B&B, Gear & Tours
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alamo
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My Husband and I are Winter Texans. When our Motor Home needed to go into the repair shop for a week, we needed temporary lodging. Not just a place to stay, but someplace to store all of the refrigerator and freezer items that can't stay in the Motor Home while in the repair shop. While researching lodging in Alamo TX, I read the reviews of the Alamo Inn posted by people who stayed their while birding. Although we are not birders, this seemed a good fit for us. I called Keith at the Alamo Inn and he explained the type of units he had available. We chose number 101, a one bedroom apartment with a full kitchen.

The apartment was very spacious, comfortable and very clean. Keith was very pleasant and accommodating. I highly recommend staying at the Alamo Inn.

Room Tip: Explain your needs to Keith and he will help select the accommodation to match your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 160 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed in the Pancho Villa room on the 2nd floor. It was a one bedroom that was neat and tidy with a living area that included a comfortable sleep sofa, refrigerator and microwave with filtered water in the room. Pancho was the theme with interesting photo-pictures. Course the waist high rooster was an interesting touch. Each room had coffee and tea too! Also the folks running this Inn went out of their way to make to make us comfortable. Going so far as to buy coconut milk for me.

We were part of a larger birding group and based our daily activities out of the Inn. Our Birders were able to gather over a cup of tea or coffee and talk about the days birding and plan the next days activities. We will recommend the Alamo Inn anyone who wants to bird South Texas.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueJean313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here as part of a small birding group, and what a pleasant surprise. After the blandness of American Motels this is superb. Our room was exceptional. It had a large sitting room, with a small kitchen; a large bedroom with 2 queen beds and a small bathroom. it was set out in wild west style. The room was services daily, but this was very minimal, and the bathroom was never cleaned and no clean towels over 5 nights - perhaps the only critisism

When you come back after a hard days birding, it is just like oming home - there's even tea and milk provided. Breakfast is do it yourself but there are plenty of choices including lots of healthy options - a rarity in the USA! we made our own lunches to take out, and there was always freash artisan bread to make sandwiches.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor all have individual themes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeinthegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I'm a repeat visitor - almost annually for the last 8 years - and I'm sure there are other decent places to stay in the region, but the Alamo Inn is something I just can't help going back to. Prices are remarkably reasonable, and supporting a privately run lodging really helps local tourism dollars make an impact, rather than being funneled off by some chain hotel. The RBA is in the breakfast room and every room we've stayed in has been comfortable, quiet, clean and absolutely delightful. Booking should be done well in advance, because of people like me! Off-season is much easier, but hotter. Still well worth it! It's a few miles from El Manjar Bakery (amazing lunch and pastries!) and across the street from a little Mexican restaurant for dinners. Fantastic establishment and owner!

No gym or pool, and a no-child policy... definitely ensures a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellewlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Once again a good stay. Have stayed there before on birding trips. Last February stayed about a week in the Hummingbird Suite. We had a full kitchen and did our own meals. This was a short notice, overnight trip. I was lucky they had a room available. Was downstairs.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancylbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were looking on the web for a place in the Rio Grande Valley to stay and do some birdwatching and came upon this spot. It was not a fancy-looking place and the prices they quoted made us think it might be... well... basic, but it had lots of people saying nice things about it. Now I know why. The Alamo Inn is about as unpretentious a place as you will ever find. Indeed, the part we saw was just apartments. Well-kept, nicely appointed apartments. Honestly, it was a lot like staying with friends, and after this, I regard Keith as a friend.

The building was surrounded with flowering plants, bringing in copious hummingbirds and butterflies, and the spacious back yard had a dog as well as a goose and duck, all very friendly.

Breakfast was "continental" and it was on the honor system. Honestly, it was unnecessary since our apartment had a fully appointed kitchen, but it was nice to have the convenience if you wanted it.

Did I mention this place caters to birders? Okay, it does. Big time. All kinds of reference books and equipment are available in the lobby/store. Keith is extremely knowledgeable about the best spots to go, what's been seen lately, where you can get a guide or other needs, even where to eat.

No, this place is not going to dazzle you with fancy artwork (apart from very good bird drawings) or expensive furniture, but for nature lovers who want a good place to stay at a very reasonable price, it is an oasis. One that we will return to often.

Room Tip: The downstairs apartments have the best access to the back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Alamo Inn we stayed in a self catering apartment which gave us all the amenities we needed for a very relaxing and comfortable stay
we were made very welcome by our host Keith who knowledge of birdwatching sites in the areas made it easy for us to find our way around
He answered all our emails prior to the holiday with very good and apropiate information for us to plan our trip to texas

Room Tip: email keith and he will advise you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeto286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alamo Inn B&B, Gear & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Inn B&B, Gear & Tours

Address: 801 Main St, Alamo, TX 78516-2560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Alamo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alamo
Price Range: $45 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging for birders and other travelers in clean comfortable suites furnished with antiques and run by a caring host who is a knowledgeable area birder. Facilities include self serve breakfast, meeting room, birding & outdoor store, working artist's studio, free WIFI, free guest computer, and other free extras including area bird and butterfly maps and check lists. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing