We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice decor, good coffee but mediocre pie :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Midpoint Cafe and Gift Shop

Midpoint Cafe and Gift Shop
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Adrian
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Midpoint Cafe and Gift Shop is an old cafe style restaurant on Historic Route 66, located at the "Midpoint" between Chicago and LA. New Owner, Dennis Purschwitz, purchased the cafe in March 2012. We cater to locals and those touring Route 66, with numerous international travelers visiting. In 2015 (between April 1 and end of October), we had guests from 80 countries visit the Midpoint Cafe and Gift Shop. We are within sight of I-40, just off of Exit 22 on RT 66. Very nice gift shop, specializing in a large selection of Midpoint and RT 66 souvenirs. Basic American grill for lunch. We are no longer serving breakfast but ware offering limited selection of bake goods for our guests. Specializing in homemade desserts including our world famous "Midpoint Ugly" pies (pies sold by the slice; we do not offer full pies for sale) all made on the premises. Our normal business hours are open 7 days per week, from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m., with meals (grill) ceasing at 3:00 p.m. We start our lunch menu (grill) at 10 a.m. Please remember that we are in the Central Time Zone, so if traveling east from New Mexico, you lose 1 hour!! Call ahead for tour reservations or to confirm hours of operation.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice decor, good coffee but mediocre pie :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The midpoint cafe looks absolutely amazing, it has a lovely retro feel and the staff were friendly and welcoming. The coffee was really good and it came in a cool 66 mug! However, the pie (which don't get me wrong tasted good) was not as good as some I have had along the route 66!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JessicaClowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    67
    22
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We are now driving out of the forrest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Yes america is like an enchanted forrest ! But like a forrest you can only walk in half way
, the caffee id a 9.5/10. My highest award. Simple well execute menue and fabulous sweet pies.
We had a simple BLT sandwich...the taste anyting but simple..it was simply fantastic.
The place was busy a testement to the hard work th owners put in.
Please stop in youwont be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richardrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I visited the Midpoint Cafe for lunch, and we are so glad we did. No wonder it gets such glowing reviews! Our burgers were delicious and came on fresh, tasty buns. The pies were what we were looking forward to the most, however, and they certainly did not disappoint! I had the chocolate peanut butter, and it was wonderful. The service was great, too. Be sure and visit the gift shop as well. You must stop here if you're in the vicinity!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiehle, VA
Level Contributor
438 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Needs Longer Hours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is one of the best places to eat along I-40. It's not just about the "ugly crust" pies. Both breakfast and lunch are excellent meals here. But, they don't do supper or late nights, Pity...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harahan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It's not about food people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We visited in between meals, so we bought a couple of slices of pie to go. Therefore, I can't report on the food (except later my husband said that the chocolate peanut butter cream pie was really good and my cherry pie was delish). Please, please patronize this diner either by eating or purchasing a "Route 66" souvenir or we will risk losing one more historical icon on this famed road. It's worth the few minutes detour from I-40 which is right in the middle of the "Mother Road".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank khdonaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midpoint Cafe and Gift Shop also viewed

 

Been to Midpoint Cafe and Gift Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing