We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not about food people!”

Midpoint Cafe and Gift Shop
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Adrian
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: The Midpoint Cafe and Gift Shop is an old cafe style restaurant on Historic Route 66, located at the "Midpoint" between Chicago and LA. New Owner, Dennis Purschwitz, purchased the cafe in March 2012. We cater to locals and those touring Route 66, with numerous international travelers visiting. In 2015 (between April 1 and end of October), we had guests from 80 countries visit the Midpoint Cafe and Gift Shop. We are within sight of I-40, just off of Exit 22 on RT 66. Very nice gift shop, specializing in a large selection of Midpoint and RT 66 souvenirs. Basic American grill for lunch. We are no longer serving breakfast but ware offering limited selection of bake goods for our guests. Specializing in homemade desserts including our world famous "Midpoint Ugly" pies (pies sold by the slice; we do not offer full pies for sale) all made on the premises. Our normal business hours are open 7 days per week, from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m., with meals (grill) ceasing at 3:00 p.m. We start our lunch menu (grill) at 10 a.m. Please remember that we are in the Central Time Zone, so if traveling east from New Mexico, you lose 1 hour!! Call ahead for tour reservations or to confirm hours of operation.
harahan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It's not about food people!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We visited in between meals, so we bought a couple of slices of pie to go. Therefore, I can't report on the food (except later my husband said that the chocolate peanut butter cream pie was really good and my cherry pie was delish). Please, please patronize this diner either by eating or purchasing a "Route 66" souvenir or we will risk losing one more historical icon on this famed road. It's worth the few minutes detour from I-40 which is right in the middle of the "Mother Road".

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khdonaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    76
    21
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great burger, great service!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Another visit to Midpoint Cafe:-) The burger was excellent, salad was very good and the service was great - friendly, welcoming and made us feel "at home!" So glad the coconut cream pie was available - and enjoyed the pecan pie I took with me later:-) The Midpoint is a "must stop" every time I'm in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fabulous Pie!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Route 66 Mid Point Cafe is a "must visit" for anyone doing the trip.
There is little else in Adrien but it is work taking the little deviation off the "I".
It is a traditional diner with a gift shop attached and the new(ish) owner is doing a lot to the area. When we were there the actual mid point line had been painted on the road outside the cafe and was just waiting for the R66 shields.
As for the food - the cafe is fanous for its "Ugly Pie" and for good reason.
Great place to stop!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlesoapyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourton on the Water
Level Contributor
148 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Trading on it's position and little else”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

As the mid point on Route 66, this cafe is a natural stopping point, but although it's nicely done out with memorabilia, and retro furniture and the owner was welcoming, the food was average. The service was a bit erratic with items forgotten (and they weren't busy). We felt that we'd had so much better value everywhere else, however rural, that we'd stopped in Texas, that this one was relying on its location and didn't feel it had to try too hard. It's not bad, just run of the mill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stop and Shop”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Central Oklahoma Corvette Club stopped at the Midpoint Café on the way to the Corvette Rally in Santa Fe. Awesome, Awesome. We went in there at lunch with 10 Corvettes and 20 people and were served immediately and happily. Great Food and Awesome Pie. It was soooo good, we stopped in for lunch on our way back to Okla. The ladies loved the little shop there and came away with all kinds of T-shirts and gifts. Thanks to the owner Dennis. We will be back.
Craig H. and Vettes

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midpoint Cafe and Gift Shop also viewed

 

Been to Midpoint Cafe and Gift Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing