We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Fun!”

Texas Pride Barbecue
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Adkins
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Fun!”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The whole experience is so entertaining, from the outside to the funky way you get your food, to eating the food in a bizarre atmosphere! The brisket and turkey were equally yummy and we both loved the spicy BBQ sauce. We loved the beans as well! We will be back!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank LunchWithRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    52
    24
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great BBQ, interesting setup...”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Read on, but this place is a BBQ restaurant that appears to have merged with a junk yard gas station...just the way it was set up.

Heard about it on DDD, had to try it. Because in Texas smoked brisket is the king of BBQ. This place does not let you down in that area.

You enter right by where all the bikers park their rides (yep a few bikers there) and get in line. All the time you are looking at the hot plate area where all the food is kept, and you are drooling it looks/smells so good. When you get to order (there are no waitresses) they first rip off a big sheet of waxed butcher paper. Your meat order is placed on that. When completed, they wrap up the meat, give you another slice of paper for plates, provide your sides in Styrofoam bowls, which you put into a plastic crate and off you go to get the plastic ware, drinks and find a place to sit.

We ordered smoked Brisket, ribs, pork loin with sides of green beans and cheesy potatoes. Finished it off with Pecan cobbler. More later.

On the way to the table, you get drinks, pickles, bread, and sauce if you want it. Seating is at picnic tables under a huge cover.

The brisket was great. Only issue was it had some fat on it, but the taste was very good and moist. Ribs fell off the bone and were fantastic. The pork loin was a bit greasy, but it tasted very good. The Pecan cobbler was outstanding. Just sweet enough, very tasty.

If you go at night, it is a bit hard to see things, so having a small AAA cell flash light would help. The lighting inside is not the brightest.

Very good food. The price is reasonable. It is about 20 miles out of San Antonio, but the drive is not that bad.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RealNavyChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great barbeque.”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

They serve great barbecue and the atmosphere is totally Texas. I had the brisket sandwich featuring tasty meat (lots of it) on a perfect sourdough roll. We plan to return and see one of their outdoor concerts in the covered outdoor area. It is well worth the drive from San Antonio. It takes about 20 minutes from the downtown area.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martha232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
194 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“What a fun place, worth the drive out of the City of San Antonio”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Having never been to Texas before, I knew that I needed to find a great BBQ place. I researched online and came across Texas Pride BBQ. The reviews were mostly good, but mixed. We were in town for a business conference and the only night we could head out this way was a Thursday night, which was Bikers night.

We took car service from the city of San Antonio and it took us about 20 minutes to get out to Adkins, TX. This place is so much fun on the outside, my kids would have LOVED it. It is decorated like an old gas station and there are really cool antiques of that genre everywhere. The people were really nice and the food was very good.

A really fun place to try out!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sullymom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“A must on your list of places to visit.”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

They have great barbecue, wonderful entertainment on the weekends and every thursday is bike night. So whatever you're looking for, good food, good music and dancing, a walk around the parking lot to look at all the beautiful motorcycles, this is the place to go. Hi on your bike & head on over. You'll feel right at home. The staff is friendly & the service is great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GigiMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Pride Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Texas Pride Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing