We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Downhill”

Hopdoddy Burger Bar
Order Online
Ranked #17 of 215 Restaurants in Addison
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 25, 2019

We've been regulars here for quite a while, but now find ourselves going less frequently. Last night was a perfect example why: they were out of Impossible Burgers, out of Vegan Gouda, took almost 30 minutes to deliver the food and couldn't even get the fries out until after the burgers. The Addison restaurant market is pretty crowded and you have to bring your A-game. Unfortunately, Hoppdoddy is doddering instead of improving with age.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 126 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2019 via mobile

First time at Hopdoddy. I ordered the veggie burger which was very good. Also I told them to use lettuce to wrap my burger patty instead of bread and they did it without any hesitation. This is a very casual setting. You pay when you order and find you place to sit. They will bring the food to your table. Give it a try it is good.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank esperanzaavitiao2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2018

Went there for a business luncheon with three other guys. We ordered the large Kennebec fries and the large Sweet Potato fries which had rock salt and parsley on the fries. Large fries were served in two large stainless dishes with two forks and the sweet potato included a dipping sauce.of Chipotle aioli which was also good. The Burgers ordered were two Llano Poblano burgers, the Goodnight burger and I had the Classic with pickles. Everyone one of us agreed the burgers were good but very greasy. In fact the two guys who ordered the Poblano burgers both said the burgers were exceptionally greasy and after a few bites left a bad aftertaste in their mouths. The photo attached even shows the grease dripping from the Classic burger in several places. Sorry no photo of the fries and they were consumed by all rather quickly.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lardog04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018

This burger is a good addition to the burger scene but oh is it expensive. My bill was $18 for a classic burger and truffle fries. Ouch! It was cooked to perfection and the fries were tasty but for that price I won't be going every week. The best part was the gluten-free bun that was more like a biscuit than a bun, but it didn't crumble in pieces like other gluten free buns I've had. I'll go again, just not often.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fizzy1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

So just be ready to do everything but cook ...
You have to get your own sauce, your own salt and paper and so on.
If you don't like to set your mouth on fire ask the sweet potatos fries sauce on the side

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Olililivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hopdoddy Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing