We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like we were stuck in the early 90's and they weren't happy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HYATT house Dallas/Addison
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Addison
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Felt like we were stuck in the early 90's and they weren't happy.”
Reviewed May 30, 2010

This "hotel" was horrible. The people at the front desk were not friendly at all and did not offer me anything for my Diamond status. When we arrived at the room, I thought I was back in college at my run down apartment. It was gross to say the least. Nothing like what they show you on the website. The one good thing was the bed did seem to be a new bed but other than that...nasty.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texasex95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    121
    40
    20
    19
See reviews for
146
57
21
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

To get this out of the way, especially for those brought here by the Hyatt in the name, this propertly, like all in the Summerfield Suites brand, are closer to motels than to hotels - but these are perfectly respectable, family-friendly and comfortable.

I stayed at this property when travelling on business with colleagues, and we needed to stay for a few weeks. The location was excellent for our purpose, close enough to the business districts where we had to go to work, and almost within walking distance of numerous restaurants and the other distractions of Beltway Drive (I think!).

The suites on offer here are large and spacious, and were clean enough and functional enough for our needs. Living area was spacious enough for five or six of us to sit and pore over laptops; beds were comfortable; bathrooms were functional and seemed well-maintained enough for me. Internet was speedy enough that most of us were able to listen to streaming music. The kitchen was equipped imaginatively enough that we never really felt the lack of any kitchen implements, and there is a Wal Mart about a mile away for supplies.

Breakfasts at the hotel, which were included in the room rate, were excellent, unless you are vegetarian - in which case, anywhere in Texas is likely to be tough! Apples, perpetually percolating coffee, and occasional chocolate chip cookies were welcome treats - so were fruit plates delivered to my suite, and frequently replenished.

There is an outdoor pool, but it was too cold (even in Texas!) for a tropical boy like me to use. There is an outdoor basketball court too.

Fitted my purpose, and those of my colleagues - we were comfortable and have no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Non-Red-Indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Traveled with my spouse and friends for a leisure weekend to Dallas. We stayed in a 2 room king suite. There was a large living area with a TV, couches and chair. The kitchen was full size with microwave, coffee maker and full size fridge. Each room has their own bathroom, TV and full size closet. The bathroom, while clean, was little worn but was fine for our short stay. The beds were comfortable, the pillows weren't to my liking but served their purpose. The internet service was decent, but a little slow depending on what time of day you were using it. The free breakfast was one of the better ones I've ever eaten at a hotel. Eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, toast, bagels, muffins, assorted juices, muffins and coffee varieties. We did have a power interruption during one day but within hours it was back on (they offered to move us to rooms with power but decided it was a hassle and stuck it out). The location of the hotel can't be beat with dozens of restaurants very near there. I was a little worried about staying here after the very negative reviews I read before hand but this hotel really was fine! This hotel would be great for business travelers and weekend traveling. All in all, we would stay there again and have no problem recommending to people.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SpoiledOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

This property is probably the WORST hotel I've stayed in the last 2 years in terms of upkeep. Furnitures are worn with a musky odor and flourecent lighting-seemed like I was staying in a Motel 6. Instead of having HDTV-in par with newer Summerfield Suites, the room still has two 19", one with a broken remote. Staff with a lazy attitude and breakfast that includes dried up potatoes and eggs-I won't even feed that to a dog! There is no elevator so if you are booked in an upper floor room, be sure to travel light cuz you will have to haul it up the stairs.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjo518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We were very pleased with the amount of room and pleasant furnishings and especially the wonderful king sized bed that was sooo comfortable. Our son became an unexpected overnight guest and we still had plenty of privacy as the bedroom has doors shutting it off from the sitting area. The fold out couch was also very adequate for sleeping one adult. The kitchen was furnished with all the necessary equipment and dishes and was situated out of the way from the work desk and sitting area. We liked the quiet, the beautiful pool area, the privacy of the alcove areas in front of each two of the units and the breakfast was especially good with really good scrambled eggs and other good dishes, very unlike the typical "included breakfast". The dining area was also pleasant and cheerful. The location was actually great if you needed to be in this area as we did. We really enjoyed our stay. And we appreciated the 12 o'clock check out and the assurance that if that was still too early they could most likely extend it. The staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Ok
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

My family frequently travels to the Dallas area and we have stayed at this location since 2002. Over the years we have seen the slow demise of the hotel and the change in ownership. This hotel had gotten so bad we made a decision the last time we stayed that we would seek a new location for our Dallas visits. The hotel staff advised us the last time that there were plans for a renovation of the hotel. Because of that statement, we decided to give it another try. The renovation consisted of a new mattress in the rooms. Everything else is the same. Carpet stained, musty smell, old furniture, etc. I would steer clear of this location.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popo2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wills Point, TX.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I didnt realize that this was one of Hyatt's stay-for-a-while places. It was rather run down and the room smelled musty and the carpeted flloors were stained. It was an outside entrace, which I didnt realize, or I would not have booked this hote. Water pressure was barely enough to take a shower or use the lavatory.

Bed linens were crisp and clean, which is basically all I needed for one overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WPtraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addison
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dallas Addison/Quorum Drive
0.5 mi away
Dallas/Addison Marriott Quorum by the Galleria
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dallas/Addison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dallas / Addison
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Dallas North-Addison
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dallas Addison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Dallas/Addison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Dallas/Addison

Property: HYATT house Dallas/Addison
Address: 4900 Edwin Lewis Dr, Addison, TX 75001-6712
Location: United States > Texas > Addison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Addison
#2 Business Hotel in Addison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Addison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Dallas/Addison 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE HOTEL: Introducing HYATT house Dallas/Addison is conveniently located in the heart of the North Dallas business corridor, just minutes from Dallas/Forth Worth International Airport and Love Field. The Dallas/Addison hotel offers travelers access to popular tourist destinations including Galleria Mall, AT&T Cowboys Stadium, the Dallas Museum of Art and the Dallas World Aquarium. For the business traveler, the Dallas/Addison hotel is centrally located to the corporate offices for American Airlines, Boeing, Cardinal Health and Pepsi. For college students and their guests, the hotel is convenient to the University of Texas at Dallas and Southern Methodist University. SLEEPING ROOMS: NEWLY RENOVATED 2011. The Hyatt House Dallas/Addison is an all Suite Hotel. All rooms feature these suite amenities: - Separate One & Two private bedroom(s) with private bath(s) - Spacious living area with a sleeper sofa and Flat Screen HD TV - Fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator with ice maker, microwave, full size stove and oven, dishwasher, garbage disposal and coffee maker - Full size desk(s) with data port, complimentary WiFi and personal voice mail - Hair dryers - Iron and Ironing Board. HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS: - Complimentary Parking - Full Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet - Kitchen and BAR - Fully Equipped Business Center - Laundry/Valet - 2 Meeting Rooms. ON SITE ACTIVITIES: - Fitness Center - Outdoor Grilling - Outdoor Pool/Heated Spa - Recreation/Sports Court - Heated Spa. OFF SITE ACTIVITIES: - Galleria Mall: 2 1/2 mile - Addison Circle Park: 1/2 mile - American Airlines Center: 12 1/2 miles - Cavanaugh Flight Museum: 1 3/4 miles - Six Flags Over Texas: 25 3/4 miles - Dallas Cowboys Stadium: 27 1/4 miles - The Village On The Parkway: 1/2 mile - 300 Dallas: 1 1/2 miles - Addison Theatre Centre/Water Tower Theatre: 1/2 mile - Dallas Museum of Art: 13 miles - Dallas World Aquarium: 13 miles - Sixth Floor Museum: 13 miles - Dallas Zoo: 15 3/4 miles - Nokia Live: 24 1/2 miles - Texas Ranger Stadium: 26 1/2 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your HYATT house Dallas/Addison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Dallas / Addison Hotel Addison
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Addison
Summerfield Suites Addison
Hyatt Addison
Addison Hyatt
Addison Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing