We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Authentic British Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Londoner

The Londoner
Ranked #29 of 197 Restaurants in Addison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Antonio TX
Level Contributor
263 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great Authentic British Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We used to live in Dallas and visited the first incarnation of The Londoner on Lower Greenville (visited a lot!) as well as the second incarnation which was two blocks north of the current location (there even more!).

The Londoner has outstanding fish and chips, Scotch eggs, and many other authentic and delicious British Foods.

The only downsize of this restaurant is that the parking lot is small and that Addison still allows smoking in restaurants and bars.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    37
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“it was like being at home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

being from england I loved the food menu.. i had to get the fish and chips which were amazing! particularly the chips nice and crispy! also the curry sauce and macaroni was amazing!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not Bad but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went last Thursday, the Chicken Tikka Masala curry was not what you would expect, a big piece of red tandoori chicken breast sliced over basmati rice and a creamy sauce poured over top. Not the usual stew type curry one would expect however the flavor was reported good.

Fish and Chips, cod, battered, hand cut chips, if it had been served hot I would have been ok with it but the chips were luke warm at best and the tartare sauce had skinned over so it had obviously been sat dying under the heat lamps whilst the werid curry version was being created.

Place was busy, not too many wait staff, one server only in a large room where we were, she coped but could have done with some help.

Strongbow cider in can, not exactly cold, may need to check their beer fridge temps, or add more ice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank portchygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Arkansas
Level Contributor
264 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Ok place to go in a pinch...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We walked to the Londoner after an all afternoon wine tour. We walked in and it was smokey (which we aren't used to smoking in a restaurant). Then we had to wait about 10 minutes before anyone came to give us menus or take orders. After that service was acceptable. The food was ok. Not bad just not great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lfferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, good prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Tried the burger, it was affordable and tasty. Good beer on tap and decent whiskey selection. Service wasn't very good, but I'll go back and try it again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garner M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Londoner also viewed

 

Been to The Londoner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing