We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World's worst La Quinta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Abilene
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
tulsa, ok
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“World's worst La Quinta”
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Usually I'll stay at the center hall entry La Quinta's which are usually pretty nice especially for the dollar. This rathole on the other hand has filthy old rooms with stains and smells to be beyond belief. I left the door open to air the place out and didn’t let any part of my body touch the floor or bed sheets. Yes I even covered a pillow with a shirt. Its next to a dirty Denny's with Buses and 16 wheelers constantly running, across the street is a filthy convenience store. It looks like they are opening another La Quinta in a newer part of town. If you want Abilene and LaQuinta, I suggest waiting until that one is opened.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveling_phil_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    101
    64
    46
    38
See reviews for
119
58
30
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2008

Staff was not friendly at all both the night clerk and the daytime clerk treated me like I was bothering them. Walls are thin dogs next door barked all night. Had to stay in smoking room since they claimed they had no downstairs non smoking rooms. Needed downstairs for one of people traveling with me. Not well lit outside. Would have liked to at least been warned that there were dogs close by .

  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmama68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We don't usually stay at LaQuinta, but bunked in because our daughter's athletic team was staying here. The room was clean, but that's about it. The mattresses were terrible, the sheets were scratchy, the pillows hard, our bathtub didn't drain, the toilet ran, and there were no blackout curtains on the windows - only a shade where people could not see in. Of course the light started coming into the room at 6:30 or so.

In addition, while they did honor the "group rate" for us, they refused to give us anything but a double room at the bargain rate. Not sure I understand why it would have been so hard to give us a king.

Spend $20 more and stay somewhere else.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Commtexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

I found this hotel to be clean, helpful and just what we needed. No, it is not a luxury hotel, but for the price it is the best option for the immediate area. They offer discounts for local Universities. The location has easy access to highway and to restaurants. We have a family member in college in Abilene and this is where we always stay, unless I wait too long to book a reservation!

  • Liked — clean, comfortable rooms for a great value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centxbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2007

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon during an ice storm. The property was clean, and the room was in very good shape. Lack of handicapped access is a problem, ramps are only available on one side of the hotel. The bed had seen its better days, but was not in that bad of shape. The view from our ground floor room was very good, over looking the pool. The room may have been a little over priced, and the hotel does need to be remodeled, especially with a Hampton Inn right across the street. I would stay there again, as a SECOND choice. Hampton would be my first.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cdiscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2007

The bed at this run-down hotel was the worst we have ever had. Neither of us slept a wink. The bath was semi-clean, and the room smelled bad. The breakfast buffet was not stocked, and was not suitable at all. We complained and they gave us a free nights stay coupon, but we will not use it, the hotel is so bad. We will never stay there again.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank unclebeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roby, Tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

We have stayed in many La Qunitas, most are very clean and nice. This one is in need of remodeling, paint chipping, beds
are hard, carpets need cleaning, showers are awful! It was more in the range of a $65 or $75 hotel, not the range of $108 - $150. Room was reasonably clean but not up to par. Staff was nice. Will NOT stay here again, unless the rates are considerably
cheaper. Laquinta reallys needs to do some work on this property.

  • Disliked — paying high price for run down hotel
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texmex02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abilene hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Abilene Inn & Suites
6.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Abilene Mall
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Abilene - North College Area
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#26 of 37 in Abilene
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Abilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Abilene

Property: La Quinta Inn Abilene
Address: 3501 West Lake Road, Abilene, TX 79601-1731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Abilene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Abilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Abilene
Abilene La Quinta
La Quinta Hotel Abilene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing