We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service in not so great area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Abilene
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This Hotel was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly. The elevator was not working and we had to walk up three flights of stairs- not an issue usually but the area (being right off I20) did not make us feel safe. My Husband went to the nearby gas station and two Greyhound bus loads of people were there. We enjoyed everything about our stay except the area and the fact that the elevator wasn't working. We expected the rate to reflect the inconvenience (3rd floor) but it did not. ** we were traveling with small kids which made a difference with feeling safe

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Liz0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelbynicole, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Liz0702,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the elevator was down while you were traveling with your family. I know how taxing it can be to tackle stairs with little ones! We work diligently to keep our property in excellent condition, unfortunately sometimes these issues do arise.

While many love our convenient access to I-20, I completely understand your concerns with the nearby bus station. However, I can say in complete honesty that we have never had any problems stem from the greyhound station arriving. I'm very sorry that you felt uncomfortable by it and hope that the friendliness of the staff and quality of the hotel helped you enjoy your stay as much as possible.

If you ever have any questions or concerns about your rate, always feel free to speak with a front desk attendant! We are here to ensure the satisfaction of your stay. If you would like to discuss the matter further please don't hesitate to contact me directly at brittney@abilenehie.com

Again, we appreciate the time you took to review our property! As always, safe and happy travels!

Brittney Moskalski - Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 109 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

I've worked at a hotel before so I know the routine. The staff was great and I had an awesome welcoming from whom seemed to be the Manager on duty. The rooms were wonderful and clean, exactly what I would expect from a Holiday Inn. The housekeepers were super nice and I don't see that too often. One staff member almost ruined my trip. The front desk receptionist in the morning threw a fit after I asked for an ice bucket. He literally threw his hands in the air and threw a fit. He complained about having to count his drawer and not having the time to do so as if I was part of the problem. Not a great way to end my stay but I will definitely stay again if I'm ever in the area, and not let this one man ruin it for this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myriah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I frequent Holiday Inn Express and IHG Properties. I completed a long leg of a 500+ mile drive from Oklahoma. This hotel like many Holiday Inn Express' is an oasis. Quiet room, comfortable and all amenities. Staff here are "down home" friendly folks. They have some nice added touches to the Express Breakfast. Clean and cozy atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelbynicole, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Tony G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your continued patronage to Holiday Inn and IHG properties. We appreciate you more than you know! As always, if there is anything we can do for you please let us know.
Safe and Happy Travels,

Brittney Moskalski- Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed in the hotel in Jan 2005 but that was before doing Trip Adviser reviews. It was a good stay as was the recent June 2014 stay but the place has gone downhill in the last 9+ years.
- 60 watt incandescent bulbs make for a DIM room. Not pleasant if you have work to do.
- Door closer needed adjusting so it would CLOSE rather than just shut but no lock.
+ Excellent breakfast, changed daily to fight boredom in a multi-day stay.
+ Helpful and friendly staff.
+ With exception of the closer and the dim lighting, the room was in excellent condition.
- Massively annoying internet: a new logon is required.every time you turn on the computer. Software is available that remembers the computer's MAC address and logs you on automatically, once daily or for the entire stay -- they should use it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfg981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelbynicole, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Wolfg981,

We appreciate your very thoughtful review of our property. Reviews like these are what help us IMPROVE and move forward in our goals of complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your time. As always if there is anything we can do to improve your stay while you are with let us know. If you would want to contact me directly so that I could get the information on the room you were staying in as well, that would be great. I would love to have maintenance check the door. My e-mail address is Brittney@Abilenehie.com

Best Regards and Safe Travels,
Brittney Moskalski- Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Room was large a king suite, very clean and king bed was very comfortable. Hotel was in a good location, staff were extremely helpful. Breakfast food was ok, staff in dining area again were great. Located in distance walking of restaurants. Would stay here again..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSUFANOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelbynicole, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear LSUFANOK,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your continued patronage. As always, if there is anything we can do to improve your stay let us know!! Safe travels!!
Best Regards,
Brittney Moskalski - Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

For some reason the GPS does not take you to this address so heads up. I called the hotel and staff was helpful with coordinates. I just stayed for one night, the place feels new and clean. The free breakfast was OK. Easy access to I-20 and gas stations. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozziecarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelbynicole, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Ozziecar,

The construction around our property is most confusing to the GPS! We are SO looking forward to it's completion!!! I am pleased to hear the staff was helpful to you through this inconvenience.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Best Regards,
Brittney Moskalski- Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My family stayed here for a wedding in March 2014. It's well-located, though not in the middle of town. They were kind enough to allow the wedding party to have use of their breakfast room area after the wedding. The kids had wanted to wind down from the festivities and there were about 20 people who wanted to visit. The hotel let us use that room which was very convenient.
The hotel is nothing up-scale, but it's certainly comfortable, clean and reasonably priced. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwatsonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelbynicole, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear cwatsonk,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our property. We were more than happy to provide the great room for your group after the wedding! We understand how important it is to have somewhere to just gather together and relax after a long evening. Our guests being comfortable and feeling welcome is of upmost importance to us! We are so grateful to have your continued patronage and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best Regards,
Brittney Moskalski - Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abilene hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Abilene - North College Area
0 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#12 of 37 in Abilene
207 reviews
6.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Abilene
Candlewood Suites Abilene
#24 of 37 in Abilene
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Abilene
Hampton Inn Abilene
#6 of 37 in Abilene
349 reviews
6.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abilene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Abilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Abilene

Address: 1802 E Overland Trl, Abilene, TX 79601-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Abilene
Price Range: $92 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Abilene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are coming to Abilene for business or pleasure let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites be your home away from home. Conveniently located off I-20 we are the choice of travelers to Abilene Christian University (ACU) and Hardin-Simmons University (HSU). We offer you trouble free high-speed Internet access, comfortable pillow top beds and plush towels in our 300 sq. ft. rooms. If you need a little more space we also have 350 sq. ft. suites to make your stay that much more enjoyable. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Abilene gives you ease of access to all the major attractions in Abilene like Frontier Texas, Taylor County Expo Center, West Texas Fairgrounds, Civic Center, Abilene Zoo, Shotwell Stadium, Paramount Theatre, 12th Armored Division Memorial Museum, Dyess AFB, Bus Station and downtown Abilene. Our location also places you near major companies such as, Region 14 Coca-Cola, the USPS Distribution Center, and the Worlds Largest Wind Farm. When it is time to start your day come and enjoy our deluxe hot Continental breakfast with a varied menu that can offer anything from cheese omelets, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs to lighter fare such as assorted yogurt and muffins. We know it will be a great start to your day. Come and relax with family we would love to have you and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Abilene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Abilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abilene Hotel Abilene
Holiday Inn Abilene
Abilene Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing