We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plaza needs to be removed from name!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Civic Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Civic Plaza Hotel
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
A TripAdvisor Member
“Plaza needs to be removed from name!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2004

The hotel sits in the class of Budget inn,Relax inn,Truckers inn. The hotel is a run down Quality Inn.I did not experience any problems with the staff.The rooms are very dated and smell like an old hotel room.Nothing Offensive just the old musty hotel room.(I pack air freshner). The rate i paid was like $66.00...Way to high for this property. The only reason I stayed here was they supposadly had a bar. Well they do,Just Beer & wine. No Crowd on a friday just me and the barmaid and the owner. I do have one thing to say..The Tv's in the rooms are great...Big 32"'s ,clear channels.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnabilenetx, Webmaster at Civic Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Downtown Convention Center. I am pleased that you considered the TV’s in the rooms to be great.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Rodeway Inn Downtown Convention Center. I think you will be grealy pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    0
    5
    29
See reviews for
13
4
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2004

I have stayed at the Civic Center Hotel numerous times and I have always enjoyed my stay. Clean rooms and curteous staff. This place is an easy recommendation.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2004

I stayed at the Civic Center Hotel and had a great experience. I recommend!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2003

I love to stay at the Civic Plaza Hotel. The guest services and rooms are far superior to other local hotels. I was surprised to learn that guests are given a free meal at the restaurant - the food was great. I also found the employees very courteous and friendly.

This is a definite recommendation!!!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank robertabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2003

Our friends here in Abilene made Reservations for us to go to the Chamber of Commerce Annual Dinner at the Civic Center. We had stayed here before, but were shocked to see, that this once beautiful property is going down hill. It is sad that older properties like this one is not maintained. The outside of this property needs help bad. There was trash all in the landscaping that looked like it belonged in the desert somewhere. The entrance was just not kept up.The rooms were very musty, carpets filthy, front desk staff very rude, our key cards did not work, the sheets were stained and very thin, the towels were almost in shreads. The breakfast in the restaurant was cold and did not look very fresh. We tried lunch and there were only small portions of 3 items, so we went elsewhere to say the least. Downtown needs a nice property to reflect Abilene's beautiful Civic Center.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnabilenetx, Webmaster at Civic Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Downtown Convention Center for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

1) Maintenance staff received additional training in properly maintaining the grounds of the establishment.

2) Housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

3) The breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast.

4) The front desk staff received additional training in the courteous manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

5) The front desk staff received additional training in programming the key cards.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Rodeway Inn Downtown Convention Center. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abilene hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2003

I came to Abilene for my cousin's wedding and we staying at the Quality Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They are definitely family oriented. I have a new born baby and they had a bassinet for me to use. The rooms were very clean compared to other hotels where I've stayed in the past. The swimming pool was clean and we enjoyed swimming everyday. The housekeeping staff was very good; they cleaned the room very thoroughly everyday. When I come back to Abilene I will definitely stay at the Quality Inn Civic Center.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2003

Our family reunion this year was much better then it was last year at a different hotel in Abilene. My family was pleased with the spacious banquet room and the amenities this hotel has to offer! Not only was the staff professional, but very courteously and helpful. The rooms at Quality Inn were clean, spacious with new furniture. The restaurant and bar, which is conveniently located in the hotel, offers a great variety of food and drinks! I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abilene hotels
2.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Regional Medical Center
4.3 mi away
MCM Elegante Suites
MCM Elegante Suites
#15 of 37 in Abilene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#25 of 37 in Abilene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abilene Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civic Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Plaza Hotel

Property: Civic Plaza Hotel
Address: 505 Pine St, Abilene, TX 79601-5109
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Civic Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Abilene
Abilene Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing