We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”
Review of Abuelo's

Abuelo's
Ranked #3 of 269 Restaurants in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Abilene, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stays very busy, but always good food and friendly service. Never eaten anything I didn't enjoy here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jasag00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    80
    25
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Abilene. Always love eating here. The food is consistently good and the service is great.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Always wonderful”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I don't live in Texas, but I look forward to eating at Abuelo's anytime I'm in the DFW or Abilene area. They have consistently good Mexican food. The spinach enchiladas were amazing, as were the chips, queso and salsa.

I love the atmosphere, but it can be a little bit loud, if you are going with friends and trying to visit. Keep that in mind.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cezek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I always order seafood when eating here, but my husband really enjoys their Mexican food. Their menu is extensive with so many choices! The food is always delicious! It is our favorite place to eat in Abilene. Service is always excellent also!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Branda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I am not a big fan of Tex-Mex food, but my wife and kids really like it. Abuelo's has consistently had the best offerings in Abilene for many years. I highly recommend the bacon-wrapped shrimp. I don't like Mexican-style rice, but I the potatoes are very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank upandaway1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing