We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME TRIP!”
Review of Abilene Zoo

Abilene Zoo
Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME TRIP!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This place was certainty AMAZING!!! Its so much bigger and nicer than our zoo at home. I blame the city for that though. Great place to stop by if your ever in the area. Don't ride the train. It's very cramped and you spend most of your time trying to get comfortable and it don't show you everything like the train in the San Antonio Zoo. Waste off money that train is. Overall a great place to visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Myriah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    116
    40
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
520 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Great Place for Kids”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is zoo is a delightful place for families to spend an afternoon. It's a smaller zoo, but they do have a wide range of animals, including lions, tigers, and bears. There are a number of reptiles and birds too. The star exhibit, though, belongs to the giraffes. They have a high walkway, that allows you to get head level with these incredible animals, and feed them. They're working on a new giraffe exhibit that will make this an even better experience. You're kids will love it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueTexasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Abilene”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

You wouldn't think that in this small town that they would have a zoo to be this quality. It is very nice and i a nice place to spend a portion of your day. Small but still fun.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank luckytxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Giraffes have long tonuges lol”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We took our 3yr old grandson to the Abilene zoo and had a great time we picked the wrong day because it was very crowded however it was very fun! It's not really big so it's easy to see everything. When we got to the giraffe's it stuck its tongue way out for a treat and at first it scared my grandson but 2 seconds later he wanted to feed it so we let him and he really liked it. So needless to say it is not a large zoo, it very easy on your wallet (not pricey at all) and it is a very fun outing for the family!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fancithatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good for short visit”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We ended up there on a day with tons of school groups, and it still didn't seem overcrowded.
We went right at opening so the animals would all be fresh.
You can buy a token at the gate for 3 crackers to feed the giraffe. The kids loved sticking it through the fence and seeing the purple tongue come out to grab it.
There's a pier area with fish food available to feed the fish/turtles in the lake.

We were done seeing everything in 2 1/2 hours, so it's a small zoo. Easy for the kids to walk around, not hilly.

Best part in our kids mind was the fort playground at the other end of the parking lot. There's also a splashpad behind that if it's the weather for it.

Great area for a day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abilene Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Abilene Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing