We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay but thin walls”
Review of Motel 6 Abilene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Abilene
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great stay but thin walls”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Our room was very clean, small, but sufficient for our one night stay. Not a heap of pressure from the shower head but still ok, people with long hair shouldn't have an issue.

Bed was super comfortable, pillows maybe a tad soft. The only issue was the super thin walls. I group of men arrived into the room next to ours quite late and they didn't sound like they were being extra loud, but we could hear them quite clearly through the walls. Just a note for light sleepers

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel_m84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    14
    9
    13
See reviews for
17
10
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Nice rooms, clean, great value. Only dislike was paying $2.99 for wifi and hard beds.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethanif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were in Abilene 4 nights to visit faily. Had not stayed in a Motel 6 since forever but based on some Trip Advisor reviews, photos of the "newly refurbished" rooms and the low rate, we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. The front desk staffer was very helpful. She explained that one of the upgrades was hardwood floors but that the contractor had forgotten to put in a sound-deadening foam (which was going to be fixed soon) so that upstair rooms had less problems with the sound of people walking in the room than those downstairs. The rooms were bright & cheery and VERY clean. There were no upstairs rooms with 1 queen so we had 2 doubles and it was a little close. If more than 2 stay in that type of room it could be very tight, but manageable. The shower looked like a space capsule!!! But worked well with plenty of water pressure. The beds were extremely comfortable. The towels were very soft. A couple drawbacks - 1) we did hear some talking from next door through of all things shared electrical outlets. It was not overly bothersome. 2) Our room came with with soap only and very tiny at that - no glasses, no shampoo, no hairdryer, so come prepared. 3) next to us was a smoking room and when we turned on our bathroom exhaust fan we could smell faint smoke odors. None of these were deal breakers, just a litle annoying. We would definitely stay there again and we would come prepared for the lack of in room amenities and we'd be just fine.

Room Tip: Bring shampoo & hair dryer. Request an upstairs room which is NOT next to a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orient_Ex_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

At half the price of the other hotels in the area this is an excellent value
The room I had was similar to rooms that I've had at other according properties in europe. The only complaint was someone smoking in a room nearby and it was making it into my room.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brock155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Took a big group, had to rent 8 rooms. The rooms were nicer than I excepted. For the price the stay was nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShadyShamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

It's clean....that ends my positive comments. The "modern shower" means its one of those old Motel 6 showers with no tub and water dribbling from above. The "great tv" means it's flat panel - just don't hope to watch more than 6 channels -couldn't see local news/weather, couldn't get ESPN, etc. Rooms are TINY. We had 2 beds. You can only exit the double bed on one side so don't try to sleep with anyone if you need to go to the rest room. Internet? For $3.99 per computer you can access the 'net. Parking? If you're lucky you can get one of those 6 spots in front of the 28 rooms in the main area. And bring a flashlight because it's dark out there in the back. Oh yeah, our room tilted from one side to the other. I think that's good if you spill something because you know which way it drains.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsptx2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abilene hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Modern shower. I can see how that wouldn't work with small kids that need a tub. But perfect price and accomadations for my husband and I.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhondalou117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abilene hotels
1.8 mi away
Signature Inn Abilene
Signature Inn Abilene
#28 of 37 in Abilene
18 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#26 of 37 in Abilene
64 reviews
7.8 mi away
Antilley Inn
Antilley Inn
#29 of 37 in Abilene
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Country Hearth Inn & Suites Abilene
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University
5.1 mi away
Motel 6 Abilene East
Motel 6 Abilene East
#21 of 37 in Abilene
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Abilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Abilene

Property: Motel 6 Abilene
Address: 4951 W Stamford St, Abilene, TX 79603-2305
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Abilene 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 clean, comfortable rooms located at I-20 near US 83-84 making easy access to anywhere in Abilene. Guest Laundry, WiFi assessible, Complimentary Coffee and Newspapers every morning ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Motel-6, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Abilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing