We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly Mexican Restaurant”

Rosa's Cafe & Tortilla Factory
Ranked #33 of 264 Restaurants in Abilene
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Family friendly Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Rosa's Cafe & Tortilla Factory is a great family-friendly chain Mexican restaurant. There are always plenty of seats and the food is great. They have a fresh salsa bar with several different types of salsa, pico, lemon, limes and cilantro. The prices and very reasonable and the serving size is good too. You can watch them make tortillas and my kid's love going here. There is an extensive menu and will surely satisfy everyone in your group. They are also able to accommodate large groups by contacting the manager. We had a group of 25 Jeepers this week and they took terrific care of us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    14
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
401 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Mexican Fast Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Ate there 3/28. Restaurant was near the hotel so gave it a try. Surprised to find it is closer to a fast food Mexican food joint than a sit down menu order restaurant.

We placed our order from a big board, similar to a fast food place. Nothing particularly appealing on the board, but prices were reasonable. You're given a number and wait for the order to be filled then pick up yourself and take to a table. Remind you of fast food? Atmosphere is colorful and there are plenty of tables.

They did serve a limited selection of beers which made it tolerable. Food was only so-so although wife liked their tamales quite a bit. It is better than Taco Bell, but will not leave you in awe.

We would have preferred a more traditional authentic Mexican restaurant and likely will not return to Rosa's.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stop here everytime we are in Abilene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Every time we make it to Abilene, Rosa's is a must. We love their Queso and chips, tacos, burritos and fajitas. We love the flour tortillas which are made fresh each day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anj1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great for families”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

You order at the counter, watch them make the tortillas and then pick up your order and find a table. They have a salsa bar so you can customize the spice, a little or a lot. There is honey to drizzle on those yummy fresh four tortillas.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Another quality dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Always efficient and consistent dinners, as was today's lunch. Cheese enchilada plate with flour tortillas on the side were to kill for.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa's Cafe & Tortilla Factory also viewed

 

Been to Rosa's Cafe & Tortilla Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing