We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel for a night”
Review of Whitten Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whitten Inn
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were on a business trip to Abilene and stayed at Whitten Inn for a night. It is very clean, which I was not expected before the trip. However, the Wifi in my room is not working. Really few things to eat in the free breakfast. Other than that, everything looks good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LubbockTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at Whitten Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for the recent review of your stay with us, we always appreciate guest feedback. Good news on breakfast we are implementing a full hot breakfast to be up and running in about a month. We also would like that if you didn't during your stay, to contact our front desk staff and let us know which room you experienced internet issues in. Recently we added equipment to improve reception and consistency, and need to know any areas we need to still fix. We currently have internet person on property if you have troubles during your next stay.


Thank You
Karen Goff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 250 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here very much. We have business trips here every 3 mo or so & will stay here again. We did have a couple of concerns which the lady who checked me out asked how the stay was & wrote down the concerns. Our sink. & tub drained very slowly; no soap bars & a soap dispenser high on the wall made it unhandy to use for a person who would rather use the tub. Also no handles of any kind in the shower/tub makes it difficult for elderly/handicapped persons. All in all the stay was a good one. Breakfast had a good selection. Thank You!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiexpo, Public Relations Manager at Whitten Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

We first want to say THANK YOU for your feedback. We are an ever increasing busy hotel and sometimes trying to get the room clean for the next guest ,we overlook small but important maintenance issues. Our guest bringing these issues to our attention is a vital part of keeping the hotel in optimal shape. We looking forward to having you as a guest on all return trips to Abilene.

THANK YOU,
Karen Goff
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Older hotel but extremely clean bath and room. Staff friendly and helpful. Only one con, irons not clean for use. It required changing irons 3 times but they finally supplied one with a clean sole plate. Breakfast was above average and bkf staff wonderful.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank ommie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiexpo, Public Relations Manager at Whitten Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

We are glad that you found our rooms extremely clean, our housekeeping staff take pride in their work giving our guest the cleanest experience possible. Irons are one of our hardest items to keep in good condition, but we are working on ways to better improve their appearance and longevity. We are glad your overall experience was a pleasant one and we look forward to seeing you again!


Karen Goff
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Ok for price surrounding area could be better, across the street good places to eat and Walmart. Room was clean, enough towels, bigger towels would have been better. We had planned to swim and we were excited to see pool across from our room but the pool was not opened for the season. Although a hot day. Courtyard grass was run down. Some updating would be nice of hotel(windows/curtains). Lobby was beautiful. Gym was tackey (hotel room with gym equipment) Staff was nice and fast, had maintance issue and they were very quick to fix.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiexpo, Public Relations Manager at Whitten Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Our hotel is a work in progress, we have recently began updating our rooms to a more modern look, and making the workout room more efficient, it does take a little time and you will be able to see a difference on your next stay with us.Texas weather likes to be unpredictable, and its effect are felt across the board. Due to a lack of rain we stay under strict water restrictions which not only effects our lawn, but many others suffer as well, and all do our best to keep it looking the best possible. All outdoor pools in Abilene are seasonal and subject to the city rules, regulations and inspections, and even though the Texas heat starts when its ready to , we must wait for opening day!! We hope that during your next stay we are able to give you the WOW factor and make you one of our raving fans!


Thank You for your review,

Karen Goff
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

After a long ride in the rain on the bike this was the first hotel that caught my attention. Upon check in the two young ladies got me set up with the room at a reasonable rate. The room was very clean and had been well maintained. The next day it was still raining so I decided to stay another day. I needed to go to Best to get my GPS looked at and the staff offered to let me use the company van. It was out on business and one of the staff offered to let me use her own personal car, I did not but the offer was exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinman_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiexpo, Public Relations Manager at Whitten Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

We constantly strive to keep our staff trained on events going on in town, directions to many locations, and little things to do to boost guest experience. Your review is one that we love to read, it means not only did we get lucky enough to hire great upstanding moral and caring staff, but our training techniques are efficient and being implemented by all our staff everyday. We look forward to having you as a guest again when in Abilene, and to continue to give you that Whitten Inn personal touch.

THANK YOU,

Karen Goff
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The staff was friendly and the room was quite clean. Its obviously been there a while but you can tell it has been updated recently. Our room was the old long rectangle box style with a big window wall on one end. Good TV, Good heat/air. Our room had normal bathroom fixtures, not the one handle shower things. Smaller than the place we stayed before but just as nice. Right across the road from a Wal-mart, Cracker Barrel, Jasons Deli and half a dozen other food places. WIFI and an ethernet port (i couldnt make it work). Not sure about the service staff, we only stayed the one night. Well, they did have help wanted signs up. Still it was worth it for us.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Lobby side are right next to the highway so it can be noisy, but they are closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiexpo, Public Relations Manager at Whitten Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

First we would like to thank you for posting the pictures along with your review, since we have begun updating we have not added pictures of the new style, and yours will help other potential guest see the changes we are making. We would like to apologize for the internet not working properly during your stay, we know now a days almost everyone requires WI-FI or Ethernet connection and we will check further into this issue and get it resolved as quick as possible. Yes, we are always hiring staff, but its nice to hear that even though we are short staffed sometimes we are still able to give you a clean and cozy experience. We look forward to seeing you again on your next stay in Abilene.

Karen Goff
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed here for a few weeks while starting work in Abilene. I was trying to save a few bucks, but, if my time here had been any longer, I would have moved to another hotel. So, I can only say that it was an adequate place to sleep reasonably priced. That said, OK, at the Whitten In there is evidence that they are trying and the hotel is not terrible, however there were:
- old, drab, dingy, outdated rooms ( although they seemed perceptibly clean, the feel was not).
- unprofessional (apparently very ill-trained) front desk staff.
- remarkably uncomfortable bed.
- house keeping who, loud enough to startle, pounds on your door and shouts housekeeping, then leaves an envelopes on which is written a request for tips.
- breakfast is ugly, day-after-day service of the same boiled eggs, cold biscuits (intended to be eaten with warm, bland gravy, too-hot coffee in too-small cups.
- generally loud, including being unable to hear your tv over the ac unit noise.
- old ac units which suck in external cigarette smoke, even though management leaves threatening literature about smoking in or close to the rooms.
I could probably go on, but I think that paints the picture. It served a purpose, but I am glad I'm not there anymore.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JS1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abilene hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
1.9 mi away
Best Western Abilene Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#11 of 37 in Abilene
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Abilene
Candlewood Suites Abilene
#24 of 37 in Abilene
46 reviews
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Regional Medical Center
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitten Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitten Inn

Address: 1625 Texas Highway 351, Abilene, TX 79601-4745
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Abilene
#3 Family Hotel in Abilene
Price Range: $64 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitten Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interior corridor rooms with exterior accessing doors. All rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. Happy hour nightly. Fitness room, outside pool, breakfast cooked daily and business center. RV lot and deluxe suites also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Whitten Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Inn University Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing