We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frequent Guest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitten Inn University

Whitten Inn University
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whitten Inn University
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Frequent Guest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel for several years while on business and have never been disappointed. The rooms are very clean Stasia and the other staff members are the friendliest in Abilene. My room is always ready when I arrive and exactly the area of the hotel I requested. Great value!

Room Tip: I enjoy staying on the 1st floor front side of the hotel. Drive right up to the room. Very well lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiexpo, Director of Sales at Whitten Inn University, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for making Whitten Inn University your home away from home. We appreciate your business and taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Be sure to contact us if you have any questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    60
    24
    15
    24
See reviews for
69
26
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have been staying @ the Whitten Inn- University for a couple months now and am very impressed with the affordability, cleanliness, and service of this motel. Continental breakfast every morning, coffee and bananas available throughout the day, consistent daily room service, affordable rates and a friendly front desk staff make this motel stand out from most others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiexpo, Director of Sales at Whitten Inn University, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We know how important it is to save money. Traveling can be very costly. The Whitten Inn University understands that and we want to be as affordable as possible, but not to take away from quality and service. It is nice when you can have all of that in one place. Thank you again for taking time to let us know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stasia and the staff at this hotel go well beyond what you would normally expect from a hotel. They are always friendly and attentive and will do whatever necessary to make your stay comfortable and easy. We have stayed here numerous times over the last 8 years and this is always our first choice for a place to stay in Abilene. The rooms have been updated and the beds are comfortable. We met several family members here on our last stay and enjoyed visiting with them over breakfast in the common area of the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seekerofhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiexpo, Director of Sales at Whitten Inn University, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
When you visit different places and meet people you remember those who care. Whitten Inn University cares about each guest that stays with us. We will always go the extra mile to make sure when you leave you remember your stay with us. Please be sure to call us when returning to the Abilene area so we can make your reservation. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I entered Abilene with no reservation and money being held by another hotel. I stopped by 5 places before I got to Whitten. When I entered, Stephanie was so kind and caring of my situation! Even though they were "booked full", she STILL got me in for the 8 days I needed to stay in Abilene. Between her and Stasia, and honeslty, ALL of the employees, from the kitchen staff to the cleaning staff, they made my less than comfortable situation seem to vanish with their acts of kindness and caring compassion. I WILL BE BACK, no doubt about that!! LOCATION was very convenient as well - near where I needed to be.

Room Tip: There is a little construction going on, but it really didn't hinder my stay. Pool was not op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tradinsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiexpo, Director of Sales at Whitten Inn University, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking time to let us know how we are doing. It is nice when hard times hit home, but you find a place that makes you smile. Be sure to stay with us next time you are in the Abilene area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferris, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have stayed at two different Whitten Inn locations in the past (Abilene-University and Van Horn,TX.) The owners Mr & Mrs Whitten and the staff (Wendy and Mr.Whitten in Van Horn and Stasia in Abilene) are AWESOME!! I refuse to stay at any other hotels on I-20 between Dallas,TX and El Paso,TX (and I have tried others) If you want to feel like you are staying with family then Whitten Inn is the place to stay. I am a woman traveling alone so I have to be very careful where I stay. Mr. Whitten or whoever is at the front desk will always have my room ready and then they go above and beyond by calling me after I have gotten in my room to make sure I am ok and locked in safely if it's at night. Everyone is friendly and always ready to help make my stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. Today I was going to stay at the Van Horn,TX location but due to inclement weather I had to make an overnight stay in Abilene. As soon as Mr. Whitten found out I had checked in he told the front desk clerk (Stasia) to take care of me and asked her to give me a room with a king size bed because he knows what my preferences are (I travel between Dallas,TX and Phoenix,AZ every 4-6 wks.) And on top of the excellent customer service I get the rooms are super clean, bed is comfortable,everything works,breakfasts are great,water is hot,the price is even greater. What else can I say? Except to tell you to check it out for yourselves and you'll find that you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I have never been disappointed with any of the rooms in Abilene,TX and I always get the same room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiexpo, Director of Sales at Whitten Inn University, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. When you find that right place to stay it is a good feeling. Please be sure to call the hotel so we can make your reservation next time you are coming to the Abilene area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stay here when we come to Abilene. The rooms are clean, pet friendly, great weekly rate, close to restaurants and Wal-Mart. Not to mention the front desk staff is very friendly! Stasia is awesome! If you're here on business or pleasure stay here!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank millwind13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiexpo, Director of Sales at Whitten Inn University, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate our guest letting us know how we are doing. Please be sure to stay with us again when you are planning to come to the Abilene area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Finally decided to stay here and really have no complaints...Super comfortable beds, really clean, and friendly/helpful staff...I think i have found my new destination when i come to abilene....Im really happy with no complaints only praise. I was pretty impressed!

Room Tip: This is the Whitten Inn to stay at when you come to Abilene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GpsGuy214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abilene hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Abilene
Residence Inn Abilene
#4 of 37 in Abilene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abilene Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#10 of 37 in Abilene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitten Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitten Inn University

Property: Whitten Inn University
Address: 1625 Texas Highway 351, Abilene, TX 79601
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Abilene
#3 Family Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitten Inn University 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Whitten Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Inn University Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing