We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bummed out in Abilene......”
Review of Whitten Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whitten Inn
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2004

I guess I got the only bad room at the Whitten University!!! I did not get clean sheets, as advertised on the roadside signs. I got dirty, wrinkled, dingy sheets that had been turned wrong side out from the previous guest in this room. The blankets were dirty, and the bedspread had a large, body fluid stain in the middle of it. The bathroom floor was dirty, as well as the toilet bottom. Very disgusting!!! The heating system is so noisy, it sounds like a freight train going through the room, and could not be adjusted to a comfortable temperature. Where was the boss?? This senior did not love the Whitten Inn University!
Sorry.........Beware......

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank burymeinmycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 250 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, TX
12
Reviewed January 21, 2004

Great Hotel! Very Clean Rooms. Excellent staff. Very friendly. Great rates also. Everything to expect from an American owned Hotel compared to others that are not. Will definately be back in the future.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2003

Our son's wedding party stayed at the Whitten. Everyone loved it. Many commented that it was the cleanest motel they'd ever seen. Everyone was so helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I'd recommend the Whitten to anyone. They made that part of planning the wedding a breeze.

3  Thank Karonh72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fort Worth, Texas
11
Reviewed October 28, 2003

The Receptionist, I belive her name was Sasha, was rude and unattentive. She never smiled, quick to speak and seemed not to care much for my concerns. I brought a coupon, and she told me that it was no good even before I finish pulling it out. I have bad knees and asked for a lower level. She snap that there was no room, so I ask for help and her reply was thank you, your room will be ready in 30 minutes to an hour. Her helper was very freindly but she was obnoxious, rude, and unneccessaryly gashful. While standing there a gentlmen conplain that his toliet ran all nite long and no one would help him/ fix it. Ms.
Sasha, screamed at a young men behind her, and proceeded to repromind him in public. Very unprofessional. Except for her, my experience was tolerable.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lake Charles,LA
1
Reviewed September 15, 2003

I stayed at the Whitten Inn for 9 months as a traveling nurse and was totally satisfied. It was my first assignment away from home with no family and no friends. But that did not last long.!!!!!!! The Whitten Inn family adopted me and took care of me, watched out for me, and met all my needs. Words cannot express the excellent professional service from the front door to the end of the pool. Once when I was sick, they checked on me to make sure there was nothing I needed. When my car broke down, they made sure I got to work. If you are looking for a big chain with no friendly touch then the whitten is not for you. But if you want to feel like a KING or QUEEN for a time this is defenitely the place. I love them all. Jackie Jubert

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bryan,TX
11
Reviewed September 2, 2003

Great Place!I've stayed at this location (I-20 location) for years.Through out all the management changes the Whitten's are the best. Mrs Whitten has been there most times to help with checking me in.(Training and directing) Mr Whitten is usualy there when I check out.(A super nice guy). The staff has always been nice and very helpful. Great breakfast! Great TV with lots of chanels! and now high speed internet!
"Oh yea.... I'm home"!!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
kenosha wisconsin
13
Reviewed August 29, 2003

it was nothing but a nightmare. i called the front desk because people were drunk and loud outside my room. nothing was done about it. then in the morning i had water coming down into my room from upstairs. i asked for a partial refund on this room and was told they were only gonna give me 9.00 dollars. what a joke! anyways i will be taking this further. i asked the girl to call the cops for me and she refused. i called them myself so they could witness what the room looked like. i now have a police report, and will be contacting a laywer to have this resolved. also i took pictures of everything before i left. if you cant rectify this situation then you will hear from my laywer.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abilene hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
1.9 mi away
Best Western Abilene Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#10 of 37 in Abilene
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Abilene
Candlewood Suites Abilene
#24 of 37 in Abilene
46 reviews
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Regional Medical Center
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitten Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitten Inn

Address: 1625 Texas Highway 351, Abilene, TX 79601-4745
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Abilene
#3 Family Hotel in Abilene
Price Range: $64 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitten Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interior corridor rooms with exterior accessing doors. All rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. Happy hour nightly. Fitness room, outside pool, breakfast cooked daily and business center. RV lot and deluxe suites also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Whitten Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Inn University Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing