We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value, Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whitten Inn University
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Value, Best Western”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The staff here was very friendly and helpful. The young lady at the front had the most pleasant personality. I would definitely stay here again. Great price and great value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    61
    24
    15
    26
See reviews for
72
29
26
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were excited to stay and support a local chain... On the night of June 14, we were horrified to find baby roaches climbing on our suitcase, clothing, where our phone was charging, AND when we woke up, we saw that there had been a big dead bug in the bed with us!!! Nasty! We told the staff - they stopped us, had us start over, and proceeded to record our report - but they did not refund our money. This clearly says that they care more about keeping the money than keeping their customers comfortable. We did not press the issue, but could not believe their lack of integrity.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JessicaL515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Whitten Inn University, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
First of all thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Whitten Inn Universtiy. We would like to apologize for the uncomfortable experience you had at our hotel on June 14, 2012. We are a hotel that prides itself in our customer service. I am sorry that you feel you were not given the adequate treatment.

During this time of year, different pests infest the entire town in waves from grasshoppers to junebugs to black beetles. Being an outdoor motel these bugs can easily get in the rooms.

With that being said, having a hotel as busy as ours, we can't always be sure what is in our rooms; whether it be bugs or other pests. In order to treat and maintain this issue, we have exterminators come every other week. If a room is occupied when the exterminator comes, they cannot treat that room by law. So, sometimes a room will get missed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

First of all they make it sound like they tend to cater to truckers. The section of the parking lot for truck parking has 4 trailers that I assume are used for storage because there were no trucks with them. This left room for maybe 2 guests with truck and trailers to park and once you get in the parking area, its very difficult to get back out.

The check in/out staff was very friendly and professional. I was checked in with key in hand in less than 5 minutes.

Property looks to be an older property but I think that the owners have done a great job at updating it. Everything was very clean, inside and out.

The room was a little on the small side but was ok for just one person. Two might be a tad bit tight. Room was very clean, bed was comfortable and a nice HDTV.

My only complaint is while there were several lamps in the room, it was still dark. Oh, and they use the combination soap/shampoo that is in a container mounted on the wall. Im not a fan of that.

But as long as they have parking for a truck, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FtWorthChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Best value we have had on a 5,000 mile trip. We try to be kind to motels along our journeys and if we are comfortable, we say so. This is the best experience we have had across 11 states. 3 smiling ladies behind the desk, a rate comparable to any of the less-expensive motels we havestayed in across the South. The bed was turned down, the a/c set at a cool temperature, soap and shampoo dispensers in the bathroom, and the lamp lights were BRIGHT. Much more than the other places we stayed! We will definitely stay with them every time we come through.

Room Tip: they ask for AAA or AARP, if you have them...Great Rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billmiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Comfy bed. Fridge and microwave in room. The free breakfast was a bit scarce but otherwise I had a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alizera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
189 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Pleasant staff and place
used a travel coupon for a good deal
Walmart right across street for an easy meal

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdgtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Older hotel, rooms were very clean, got a great rate - however, I would have preferred a better breakfast - our offering was boiled eggs (cold), white or wheat bread to toast, gravy (cold) and biscuits, muffins, cereal and bananas. My husband is 6'4" and had a hard time getting into the bathroom and the door had a crease in it where it hit the toilet every time it was opened or closed. I could also hear flushing from the room next door. Having said all of that, I might stay here again because of the cleanliness and good rate, but I will be checking other places in the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCU-ACUMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abilene hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Abilene
Residence Inn Abilene
#5 of 37 in Abilene
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitten Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitten Inn University

Property: Whitten Inn University
Address: 1625 State Highway 351, Abilene, TX 79601-4745
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Abilene
#3 Family Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitten Inn University 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Whitten Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Inn University Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing