We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Whitten Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whitten Inn
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Older hotel, rooms were very clean, got a great rate - however, I would have preferred a better breakfast - our offering was boiled eggs (cold), white or wheat bread to toast, gravy (cold) and biscuits, muffins, cereal and bananas. My husband is 6'4" and had a hard time getting into the bathroom and the door had a crease in it where it hit the toilet every time it was opened or closed. I could also hear flushing from the room next door. Having said all of that, I might stay here again because of the cleanliness and good rate, but I will be checking other places in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCU-ACUMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 251 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

the hotel was okay but the rooms were very old looking. the breakfast was good. but the best thing about this hotel was the Mexican restaurant "Oscars" next door. we walked over and the food was DELICIOUS!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I've stayed at this motel a couple of times and like it a lot. As another reviewer has observed it was probably a Holiday Inn 40 years ago. The Whitten's have done a good job of keeping the older property pretty nice. I like these type of two-story courtyard motels with outside rooms that one can park near. The room was clean, the bed was good and there were more amenities than I expected for the price (microwave, fridge, large flat screen TV, free WiFi, breakfast). I wish the Whitten's managed more older properties!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H2Owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This is an older hotel (probably an old Holiday Inn); locally owned. Definitely not a 5 star, but its clean and I feel safe when I stay there. Staff is very friendly and makes me feel at home. It's close to restaurants, gas stations, and the interstate. Free wireless and breakfast. It was worth the price and would stay there again. It's a good place for a sleepover...don't expect a resort.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamorgan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I didn't think they made hotels like this anymore. I have not stayed in such a cheap and low quality hotel as this in 40 years. Office attendent was nice, and so was staff. My main complaint is the quality of the hotel. Small rooms, room door opens up to the outside. (feels unsafe) espically in such close proximity to I-20. You never know who is lurking about. Lots of noise here from other guest. Pay the extra money and stay at a higher quality and more modern hotel. That my advice. The only positive here is that Cracker Barrell is just across the street!

Room Tip: Find a better quality hotel in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim45Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Nice place to stay for one night. Rooms are clean, staff are friendly. Nice breakfast.
Limited semi truck parking
Omar's Mexican food next door. Cheap COLD beer only. I wouldn't go back for the food
Chili's across the street

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParkerTrucking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed here after my flight got cancelled. It is an older hotel and is lacking on some of the amenities that newer hotels will offer. It does have wifi, but it was so slow that I couldn't use it; I had to tether my phone to get Internet.
The room was clean and acceptable. It is in a good location, not too far from the airport, with many close-by choices for restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sputnik54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abilene hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
1.9 mi away
Best Western Abilene Inn & Suites
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Regional Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Abilene
Candlewood Suites Abilene
#24 of 37 in Abilene
46 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitten Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitten Inn

Address: 1625 Texas Highway 351, Abilene, TX 79601-4745
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Abilene
#3 Family Hotel in Abilene
Price Range: $64 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitten Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interior corridor rooms with exterior accessing doors. All rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. Happy hour nightly. Fitness room, outside pool, breakfast cooked daily and business center. RV lot and deluxe suites also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Whitten Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Inn University Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing